WWI Memorial Rood Screen
The Lord Hath Wrought Great Glory By them Through His Great Power
George John Abbott: Saturday 8th February 1919
George John was born on 29 September 1883 and baptised at St Luke’s Battersea on 11 November while the family were living at 11 Althorp Road. He became a surgical instrument maker’s assistant.
George’s military records have not survived but we do know he became Sergeant 550016 with the 16th Battalion London Reg (Queen’s Westminster Rifles) and was 35 when he died. IWM records show him as having 3 service numbers, 176, 650016 and finally 550016.
He is the last person commemorated on the Memorial and was obviously added after the majority of the work as he is last on the list and not in his alphabetic order. He was the widower of Eliza. He is likely to have died locally as he was buried in Earlsfield Cemetery on 13 February 1918, probably of either wounds or the 1919 flu epidemic.
He was buried with Aunt Emma and the stone records that he died “having served through the whole period of war. You were our pride, we dreamed great things of you. God intervened, so the dream came true”. When his father was granted probate in March 1919 George’s estate was valued at £398 13s.
George’s father, George William Abbott, a widowed, retired mercantile clerk, lived at 24 Althorp Road. His mother had died before the 1901 census. George John’s invalid aunt, Emma lived with the family until she died on 3 March 1917 age 75. He had two younger sisters Jane and Marion who were milliners. The family kept a live-in servant. Their neighbours at No 22 were the Herne family who had already lost 2 sons (George and Arthur) by the time George died.
George Walter Aitchison: Monday 25th January 1915
George was baptised on 21 July 1886 at St Anne’s. George was a tax collector’s clerk prior to the war. George joined the London Scottish as Private 2254 in 1st/4th Battalion. He was killed in action aged 28 and is commemorated on Le Touret Memorial.
The family lived at 117 St James’ Road with their parents John Henry, a barrister’s clerk, and Elizabeth. They had lived there since at least 1901. George had three siblings, Philip, a bank clerk, Elizabeth, an Elementary School assistant for LCC, and Henry (who is also commemorated on the SMM Memorial). There was also another child who died in infancy. All children were born in Battersea although their father was from Southwark and their mother from Oswestry.
Henry Richard Aitchison: Wednesday 1st November 1914
Henry was a bank clerk. He joined the London Scottish. He became Company Sergeant Major of 1st/14th Battalion, regimental no. 438. He was killed in action aged 35 and is commemorated on the Menin Gate.
Henry is one of the 717 names on the joint City and Midland Bank Memorial now in Canary Wharf. Henry’s younger brother George is also commemorated on the SMM Memorial. Neither brother was to have a marked grave.
For more information about Henry’s family please see his brothers entry.
Alfred William Anderson: Monday 28th May 1917
Alfred enlisted in the 18th Co London Regiment (Irish Rifles) in Chelsea, and became Lance Sergeant No 590661 and was killed in action on 28 May 1917, He is buried in Bedford House Cemetery between Ypres and Armentieres. His two brothers served throughout the war. Alfred’s brother, James Henry, claimed his war medals.
Alfred was a draper’s apprentice before the war and was the third and youngest son of the John Henry, the licensee of the Surrey Tavern (now a restaurant at 226 Trinity Road), and Sophia. They had three sons who lived past infancy: James Henry (costume manufacturer’s assistant born ~1890); Joseph Dixon (draper’s assistant born ~1893); and Alfred William born ~1897 born in Camberwell. A fourth child died in infancy.
The family moved to Surrey Tavern after 1911, before which they had been managing a hotel in Honor Oak Park. John is shown running the Greyhound Hotel in Croydon in the 1901 census and came from Ireland.
When Sophia died aged 50 in August 1916 her obituary stated that anxiety about her 3 sons fighting in France had contributed to her long illness. In May 1918, when John died aged 51, an inquest in his death stated that there were only two sons. One, Lieutenant James H Anderson was on active service with Nott’s & Derbyshire Regt. (unable to attend the funeral or inquest), and the other Lieutenant Joseph D Anderson was at home having been wounded with the 18th Battalion London Regt.
Lieutenant James Henry married Mary Evelyn Cooper on 28 July 1917 at SMM and her funeral was held there on 26 March 1918 aged 32.
John Geoffrey Astill: Tuesday 27th August 1918
John enlisted in Finsbury as Private 23440 and was first with Durham Light Infantry, before transferring to the 6th Battalion Dorsetshire Regiment. He was killed in action and is commemorated on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial.
The 6th Dorset’s staged an attack on the village of Flers in the early hours of 27 August. John may well have fallen in this attack, which was planned for 1 am, but as changes with the plans were still being explained at 1 am, and the Battalion only moved off at 3:30 am. They were instructed to push on regardless of what happened to others.
The attack began “with great dash”. Some 200 prisoners, 10 machine guns and a couple of trench mortars were captured. However both flanks were exposed and when a violent counterattack came at 7 am the Dorset’s were pushed back, nearly to their starting point. Two officers and 40 men were killed and the surviving men were so tired they fell asleep where they were.
Vis-en-Artois Memorial is 10 kilometres south-east of Arras on the Road to Cambrai in France. This Memorial bears the names of 9,850 men who fell in the period from 8 August 1918 to the date of the Armistice in the Advance to Victory in Picardy and Artois, between the Somme and Loos, and who have no known graves.
John’s family home was 28 Baskerville Road, although his parents John Edward and Bessie, were to move to 16 Morella Road. In 1901 the family lived at 12 St John’s Road where they kept a drapers shop. John was born late 1897, and his sister Violet Mary ~ 1899. They were baptised at St Mark’s Battersea Rise. They also had a younger sister Sybil Enid, born ~1902. In 1911 the family kept a live-in servant.
Leonard Bastian: Sunday 13th October 1918
Leonard became a Lance Corporal (534315) in the Prince of Wales’ Own Civil Service Rifles, part of the London Regiment. He was posted to the Queen’s Westminster Rifles, 15th Batt., when he was killed in action. He is buried in Naves Communal Cemetery Extension in Northern France.
The Extension was begun by the 49th (West Riding) Division in October, 1918, after the capture of the village on the 10th. A number of casualties were also transferred from other cemeteries. Records do not survive as to whether Leonard was killed in the taking of the village, or in another action in the area. Probate records show he left an estate of £406 17s 5d to Edith Roberts, spinster.
Leonard was born in late 1892 in Wandsworth, and was the son of Archie and Annie Bastian of 7 Alma Terrace. Archie was a Cab proprietor and employed a live-in cab driver. Archie advertised in the parish magazine as working out of the County Armes yard:- “Rubber tyred cabs for all London stations”. Archie and Annie had two other sons, Archie L born ~ 1889, and Edward born ~ 1890. In 1911 Leonard was a boy clerk in the Civil Service and boarding with a retired Prison Service bootmaker at 341 Trinity Road. His father does not appear on the 1911 census implying he had died.
Frederick Arthur Berridge: Thursday 7th June 1917
Frederick was a colonial civil servant in the Natal Government Office and gave his address to the army as the High Commission of the Union of South Africa. He became a Lance Corporal (703344) in 1st/23rd Battalion London Regiment.
He enlisted in Putney and from the enlistment form we know; he was 33yrs 30 days, 5’11½” tall, weighed 151 lbs, had a 39” chest with 4” expansion and had very good physical development. He gave his occupation as Clerk. He arrived in France at Le Havre on 29 September 1916, and was killed in action, and is commemorated on the Menin Gate.
Frederick was the son of Thomas, a bank accountant, and Harriet Berridge. His father died before the outbreak of War, and his mother lived at 11 Althorp Road. He was one of eight children, two of whom died in infancy. His older brother Hubert Stanley was a manager of an estate agent’s office. Hubert married Phyllis, and on 6 March 1914 their daughter, Margery Phyllis, was baptised. His four older sisters were Florence Cooper, Mary Louise Anderson (who lived with the family together with her son Alec Thomas born ~1900), Winifred McCabe and Ada Heath. All children were baptised at St Anne’s.
Frederick’s effects were sent to his brother, Hubert Stanley, at 57 Ravenslea Road and consisted of “letters, wrist watch, and cigarette case”. By 1924 Frederick’s mother had died, and his brother, by now living at 47 Ellerton Road, finally received Fredrick’s war medals after querying the non-receipt.
George Pigrum Bowie: Wednesday 7th July 1915
George joined the Canadian Infantry at Valcartier (a military base near Quebec). When he enlisted on 10 September 1914 he was 5’11½”, had a 36½” chest with a 5½” expansion, a dark brown complexion and hair, brown eyes and a scar below his right knee. He gave his next of kin as his father while his brother quoted their mother.
Before enlistment, he had already served for three years with the 20th Middlesex Rifles and was an active member of the 31st British Columbia Horse, a militia regiment. His attestation paper shows that he was granted a temporary commission.
By mid 1915 he was a Captain and was serving with 5th Battalion Canadian Infantry, whose war diary for July 1915 states that work was being done to deepen and improve trenches, the need for refurbishment of the wire in no-mans-land, the dispersal of enemy working parties with rifle fire, and trouble with enemy snipers, including the killing of Capt. C.P. Bowie by a sniper’s bullet and wounding of an unnamed soldier.
He is buried in the Berks Cemetery Extension between Ypres and Messines in Belgium. His family added the text “Loved and honoured” to his headstone. He also commemorated on the Canadian Virtual War Memorial. Probate records show he left an estate of £52 7s 1d to his father.
George was born on 29 March 1881. He became a draughtsman with Holloway Brothers (a prominent local building firm, one of whose family is also commemorated on the SMM Memorial) and later an architect.
He worked for Holloway’s from 1896-1901 and gained most of his knowledge of construction there. He attended courses at the City of London College and trained under the locally prominent Edwardian architect Edward P. Warren. He enrolled at the Architectural Association in 1903 and in the following year travelled to Boston, Mass. where he worked for Russell Sturgis and for C.A. Cummings before returning to London in early 1905 to become assistant to Charles Harrison Townsend, one of the leading advocates of the Arts & Crafts ‘free style’ of design.
In 1906 he emigrated to Canada and settled at Vancouver where he was appointed chief assistant in the office of Parr & Fee, a position he held until 1910 when he opened an office under his own name. In 1907 he joined a local Freemasons lodge.
In 1912 he designed the Lumbermen’s Arch in Vancouver for the visit of the Duke of Connaught (Governor General of Canada). This was a massive timber structure constructed entirely of fir, and was reportedly held together only by its own weight as no nails, bolts or fasteners were used. It became known as Bowie’s Arch and stood until 1947 when as a result of decay was replaced by a simpler structure which still stands in Vancouver’s main park.
Alfred and Elizabeth Bowie had 7 children one of whom died in infancy. The eldest, George Pigrum, was born in Upper Holloway but the remainder, Alexander S (a colonial importer born ~1883), William M (timber salesman born ~1885), Ralph Archibald (also commemorated on the SMM Memorial), Dorothy and Marjorie, were all born in Balham. By 1901 the family were living at 80 Sarsfield Road and Alfred was a Civil Servant, superintendant with GPO. By the outbreak of war the parents had moved to 9 Bernard Gardens Wimbledon, George and Ralph had emigrated to Canada and Alexander was living in Beechcroft Road.
Ralph Archibald Bowie: Wednesday 26th November 1917
Ralph enlisted as a Private in Vancouver on 17 February 1915, giving his mother as his next of kin, and was described as 5’8” tall, with a 37” chest, fair complexion, with Brown hair and eyes, and two vaccination scars on his arm. Like his brother (also commemorated on the SMM Memorial) he had previous military experience, having served in the Militia.
He arrived in France with his unit in October 1915 and took part in all the battles the Canadians were engaged until January 1917 when he was given a commission as 2nd Lieutenant in the 5th Leicestershire Regiment.
When leading his platoon in an attack near Gravenstaffel in front of Ypres in the Passchendale sector on 26 September 1917, he was severely wounded in the hand but pressed forward gallantly at the head of his men, but a few minutes later he was instantly killed by enemy fire.
Ralph was born on 28 June 1890 in Balham, baptised on 17 August at St Mary’s Balham and went to Upper Tooting High School (on part of the current Finton House School site in Trinity Rd). He emigrated to Canada in 1911 and joined the Bank of Montreal as a teller. For further information on the family, please see his brother’s entry. He had been a bank clerk before emigration.
Albert Brill: Thursday 28th March 1918
Albert joined the Royal Sussex Regiment and became a Private in that regiment, his regimental no. was 5142. At some point, he transferred to the Machine Gun Corps. (Infantry) 4th Battalion where is regimental no. was 127017. He was killed in action and is commemorated on the Arras Memorial.
Albert was born early 1896 in Wandsworth and lived at 81 Beechcroft Road. His parents were Albert, a scaffolder/builders’ labourer, and Emily Ann. He was baptised at Holy Trinity on 5 April 1896 and had a brother George, also baptised at Holy Trinity on 6 March 1898. The family lived at 7 Langroyd Road when the children were born and had moved to 31 Brenda Road by 1901. By 1911 the family were in Beechcroft Road and both brothers were errand boys.
Holly Duncan Brobyn: Monday 14th May 1917
Prior to the war, Holly had a live-in job as a draper’s clerk at Harvey Nicholl’s in Knightsbridge.
He enlisted with the Royal Horse Artillery as number 1115 and had transferred to B Battery, 282 Brigade, Royal Field Artillery, and was Gunner 935170 when he died of his wounds. His Brigade had served in the Somme and took part in the capture of Vimy Ridge on 10 April 1917. It is likely that this is where he was wounded. He is buried at the Loos British Cemetery.
Holly is also commemorated on the Memorial at the Church of the Good Shepherd, Handen Road, Lee. The memorial consisted of a new altar, choir stalls and pulpit in plain oak and a roll of honour caved in oak, with inlays of ebony and mother-of-pearl.
His parents were James and Clara Amelia Brobyn. His father was a hosier in 1901 who went on to be a Gents’ outfitting manager. They lived in Balham when Holly was born and he was baptised on 11 June 1899 at St Mary’s when he was probably 3 years old. The curate’s (Arthur Ellis) handwriting is not very legible, but it seems the family were living at 32 Byrne Road. He had an older brother, Horace Noel born in 1884 when the family lived in New Cross Road. By 1911 the family were living at 21 Childerbert Road in Balham.
His brother Horace also enlisted but was discharged unfit from the Leinster Regiment on 28 August 1916. Horace married Dorothy Sarah, from Rowfant Road, on 18 September 1919 at St Mary’s Balham. His occupation was stated as a shipping merchant’s manager, and his given address was 178 Manor Road Lee. This is probably where the connection with the Lee Memorial comes from.
Horace moved to St Nicholas Road Tooting and died in St John’s Hospital, Battersea (now a Therapy centre and housing estate) on 9 January 1937 at 43. An early death which may well have resulted from the effects of his war service.
Herbert Brown: Wednesday 5th July 1916
Herbert Edward enlisted into the 1/5th Battalion, South Staffordshire Regiment (T.F.), and became Corporal 8878. He attested for the Regiment in Walsall, Staffordshire, as Herbert William. He entered France on the 5 March 1915, dying of wounds at 20 Casualty Clearing Station, and is buried with a plain cross in the Warlincourt Halte British Cemetery, Saulty, Pas de Calais, France.
His name was included on intersession lists, which were published up to Easter 1916, so it seems reasonable to assume that he was wounded or injured during or after the Battle of Loos, which was the first large-scale offensive of the war, or the actions of Hohenzollern Redoubt that followed after.
He was born in 1891 in Springfield, Chelmsford, Essex, the son of Michael, Principle Warder, and Mary Maud Brown. In the 1891 census, he is shown living with his mother Mary Maud, born Marlborough, Wilts., with his father being absent – probably due to the Prison not having married quarters. In the 1901 & 1911 census, the family are living at No 60 Officer’s Quarters, H.M.P. Wandsworth, and 337 Trinity Road, Wandsworth Common. His brother, Harold George, was born in 1896 in Wandsworth. By 1911 Herbert is an Engineer’s Clerk for a Consulting Engineer, it doesn’t say which firm, but perhaps for the Davey’s? His brother was a Telegraph Messenger for the Post Office.
It appears that Herbert married Susanne Mallett in the first quarter of 1916 in the Cannock registration district (Staffordshire), perhaps when on leave or convalescing from injuries, less than six months before his death. Soldier’s Effects show that outstanding monies and War Gratuity were sent to his wife, Susanne. At the time of the formalisation of the Graves and Memorials by the CWGC, the next of kin details are given for Michael at 33 Officers’ Quarters, H.M.P. Wandsworth, with Herbert’s wife, Susanna Brown, living at 4 Furstenberg Strasse, Remagen, Rhineland, Germany.
John Yockney Burchell: Monday 27th August 1917
John enlisted in Devises with the Hampshire Regiment, despite being resident in Wandsworth, and was given the service number 380884. He then transferred on to the 2nd/8th Battalion Worcestershire Regiment, where he became Private 260310. He was killed in action, probably aged around 19, and is commemorated on the Tyne Cot Memorial.
John’s father, Eli Charles Abid John Brown, was on the staff of Wandsworth Prison, and the family lived at 14 The Quarters. John was one of eight children born in Winchester and in 1901 was 3 and together with his sister, Amy 1, living with his grandfather in Marlborough.
David James Burrin: Friday 23rd August 1918
David enlisted in the Australian Infantry as Private 1115 on 15 October 1914. His attestation form shows him to be 5’9” tall 11st 8lb, chest measure 34-37”, medium complexion, grey eyes and dark brown hair with a scar on right forehead and right upper lip. He gave his denomination as Church of England. At embarkation, he had risen to Corporal, and his address (with a number of colleagues) was c/o M Terry NSW.
His unit embarked from Melbourne, Victoria on board HMAT A32 Themistocles on the 22nd Dec 1914. He was hospitalised 11th September 1915 with a septic hand from a wound at Lone Pine, Gallipoli, developed dysentery and transferred to Reading War Hospital. He rejoined the BEF on the 22 April 1916 at Etaples. He was wounded in action on the 22 July 1916, with a severe wound to the right leg, and was hospitalised in Portsmouth. He rejoined his unit on the 18 December 1916, becoming an officer cadet at Trinity College Cambridge on the 3rd January 1917, and a 2nd Lieutenant on the 31 August 1917. He was then posted to general infantry. He was mustard-gassed on the 21st March 1918 and again on 23rd at Messines and transferred to England via Boulogne and sent to 3rd Lon Gen Hosp. On 25th he was shown with severe mustard gassing. He was promoted to Lieutenant on the 28th May 1918 and left for France 1st July 1918 via Southampton. He was killed in action at Chignolles, on the Somme sector, 23rd August 1918. He was buried at the time and reinterred after the war in Heath Cemetery Harbonnieres. He is also commemorated on the AIF Project.
On the 17 October 1918, his mother acknowledged receipt of his effects on a pre-printed postcard to the Australian Infantry Force (AIF) baggage store in Fulham. His mother was living at 138a Swaby Road. His will was addressed to his sister, Helen Mary Burrin, at Base hospital Oxford to whom he left his effects.
James’ parents, David and Emily Burrin lived at 3 Wiseton Road. James was born at Headington in Buckinghamshire in December 1890 and went to the Cowley Fathers’ School in Oxford.
He served with 4th Batt (Territorial force), Oxfordshire & Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, for 5 years before emigrating to Australia at the age of 22 in 1912, where he was described as single, a clerk and archivist. Before emigration, he had been an assistant clerk with GPO, and his sister Emil Harriet was a GPO telephonist.
At the end of the war, his mother was living in Earlsfield, and he is also commemorated in St Andrew’s Earlsfield book of remembrance. St Andrew’s did not have a war memorial but produced an illuminated book of remembrance for the casualties of their parish. This was stolen in 1987 and a copy was re-created by one of the congregation.
In Dec 1922 his medals, memorial plaque and booklet “Where Australians Rest” was sent to his mother.
Sydney enlisted at Camberwell on 25 May 1915 as Private 3999, aged 19 years 3 mths. He was 5’5” tall with 33” chest and 3” expansion and described as satisfactory health at enlistment. He was hospitalised for 8 days from the 7th – 15th June 1915 with conjunctivitis & blephasitus, and served as temp Corporal from 5th – 24th October 1915, before reverting to Private at his own request.
He left for France on 2nd Jan 1916 and joined the 21st (County of London) Battalion (1st Surrey Rifles) on 24th February. He was reported missing after action in France/Flanders on 23rd May 1916 and declared dead 2 days later. He is commemorated on the Arras Memorial and has no known grave.
Sydney was one of 10 children, 2 of whom died in infancy. In 1911 five children were living at home, William a plumber, Alfred a telephone engineer, John a brass finisher for the gas company and Sydney and Dorothy who were at school. The family had lived at No. 25 Wiseton Road, although by 1917, his parents John a cabinet maker, and Jane Bush, had moved to 168 Trinity Road.
Sydney would have been a member of Trinity Road Chapel as he is also commemorated on their memorial.
His father was asked for a list of close relatives in May 1919. He had 3 brothers and 4 sisters as follows: John Thomas, aged 33, 1 Grecian Crescent Upper Norwood; Alfred Edward, aged 36, ditto; William John, aged 39, 15 Preston Rd Upper Norwood; Margaret Jane Beckett, aged 40, 80 Boundaries Rd; Dorothy Evelyn Bush, aged 18, ditto; Ellen Matilda Bush, aged 30, 168 Trinity Road; Florence Edith, aged 24, ditto. The document was witnessed by Rev Theodore Wood.
The CWGC gives his father’s address as Grosvenor House, Dock St., Porthcawl, Glam., implying he left the area sometime after the War.
Richard Hamilton Carrick: Monday 2nd April 1917
Richard enlisted as Private 5402 in the I of C OTC in August 1915, before obtaining a commission in Jan 1916 when with the Machine Gun Corps. He went on to become a 2nd Lieutenant with the 9th Battalion (Service), Devonshire Regt., serving through France and Flanders with Expeditionary Force and was killed in action, aged 19, leading his men forward at Escoust on the 2nd April 1917. He is buried in HAC Cemetery Ecoust-St Mein. His also commemorated in Vol III of the De Ruvigny’s Roll of Honour, and Soldiers Died in the Great War, 1914-1919
Richard was born on 22nd June 1897. and was Baptised on the 17th July 1897 at St. Andrew’s, Croydon. His father and mother are listed as Richard and May Carrick. It appears Richard was May’s only child. In 1901 the family lived in Egmont Road, Sutton. May (daughter of Thomas Winter) has been widowed, as her husband is described as “late”. She is appears as the Head of the Household despite living with her brother in law, James who was a printer & publisher. By 1911 Mary is living in Cheam, and is described as a Milliner and an employer, implying she ran a business. Richard is listed as a School Boy. He was a pupil of Merchant Taylor’s School. By the start of the war, it appears that the family was living at 13 Frewin Road.
Richard’s Medal Index Card shows that his British War Medal and Victory Medals were sent to his mother, Mrs Carrick, at 13 Frewin Road, Wandsworth Common, SW18, in what appears to be 1922.
Harold Farley Carver: Friday 3rd March 1916
Harold became Private 23275 with the 6th Duke of Cornwall’s Light Infantry, enlisting in Plymouth. The Regiment landed in Boulogne on 22 May 1915. He was killed in action aged 25 and is buried at Agny Military Cemetery, Pas de Calais, where he is likely to have been one of the first Commonwealth burials.
Harold was the youngest son of Mrs Charlotte Ann Carver and her late husband W S Carver and lived at 38 St James Road. In 1901, aged 10, Harold was living with his grandparents, Henry and Jane Carswell in Littlehampton. By 1911 the family were at 16 Blenkarne Road. He was one of eight children two of whom died in infancy. Harold was a tailor. He had an elder brother who was a builder and decorator and a drapery assistant sister. The family took in an elderly couple as boarders. When his mother obtained Richard’s probate of £32 14s 6d her address was 16 Blenkarnie Road.
Sam Chaplin: Saturday 1st July 1916
It has been difficult to say with certainty which Samuel Chaplin listed by CWGC is the one commemorated on SMM Memorial. It is most likely to be Samuel Chaplin, Private G/5802 from the 7th Batt. The Queens (Royal West Surrey Regiment). He was killed on 1 July 1916, the first day of the Battle of the Somme. He is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial.
Cecil Grundy, also commemorated at SMM, was killed the same day on the Somme.
Harold Thomas Arthur Chapman: Monday 3rd May 1915
Harold was born in Wandsworth. He was the second son of Ernest Lewin, a Barrister, and Mary Nancy Chapman of 7 Patten Road. In 1901 they were living at 9 Melody Road and he had two brothers, Ernest, 2 years older and Philip, 4 years younger. It is likely that Philip was a member of the Scouts as the parish magazine for December 1914 stated that “Mr Chapman is in France and quite well”. On 2 January 1914 Ernest and Mary baptised a sister to Harold, Helen Nancy at SMM.
Harold emigrated to Australia and lived at the corner James and Dufer St, Boulder Western Australia. He was a Presbyterian, a clerk and single. He enlisted on the 18 August 1914 at Helena Vale Western Australia with the 11th Battlaion AIF, his regimental no. was 646. He was 5’8¾” weighed 159lb, 36½” chest, fresh complexion, blue eyes and dark hair. He listed his father as next of kin, giving his business address of c/o Leman & Co 44 Bloomsbury Sq London WC. Perhaps this was done to shield his mother from any future telegrams.
He was fined 5/- for being absent without leave 28 September 1914 and left Freemantle on HMAT A11 Ascanius on 2 November 1914. He left Alexandria on HMAT Suffolk 2 March 1915 for the Dardanelles, and was reported wounded and missing in action 3 May 1915. His family appear to have understood him to have been wounded on 25 April.
An abortive action at Cape Hellas, landing with the objective of taking “Hill 114” and link with troops from another beach, took place 25 April – 3 May and, given the chaos, any date in this range is possible. An officer’s diary of the time indicates many dead and wounded.
His father wrote to the Australian Dept. of Defence in November 1915 to try and find the extent of injuries. A Board of Enquiry was held on 10 April 1916 at Fletre, France into Harold’s fate followed a letter from his uncle A C H Chapman, of McIlwraith McEacharn & Co. of Port Adelaide, who wrote to his Australian senator to try and find out what happened. He understood he had been sent to Australia in August 1915 on a hospital ship. Witnesses to the Board stated, variously, that:
He had been shot in neck at Gaba Tape on 4 May.
His dead body had been seen.
He had been shot in back and witness thought he died on Hospital ship.
He had seen him killed same day together with others early in morning.
He had his leg blown off and died on Hospital ship.
In the general confusion, it was not possible to say exactly what had happened to him, despite far more investigation than happened for many British privates, and he was declared dead by the Board of Enquiry. His effects were listed as; 1 watch, damaged and 1 hat band. These were sent to his father, at his place of work.
He is commemorated on the Virtual War Memorial Australia.
Gerald Arthur Coleman: Thursday 6th February 1919
Alfred enlisted as Private 2286 with the 1st/16th Batt. London Regiment. He was later a Rifleman, before gaining a “commission into the regular army” on 4 February 1915. He was a Captain in the Royal Defence Corp by the time he died aged 28.
He died at Angmering on Sea in Sussex and was buried in a family plot in Earlsfield Cemetery on 10 February 1919. His standard war grave headstone sits in the middle of a badly eroded, and no longer legible, marked plot. When his widow gained probate Gerald’s estate was valued at £129 18s 9d.
Gerald’s parents were Alfred and Laura of 16 Herondale Avenue. Alfred managed a wholesale drapery warehouse. Gerald’s father had risen from being a commercial traveller in 1901 to city merchant. The family had moved from Leathwaite Road in 1891 and 31 Honeywell Road in 1901 and were still there in 1911 when they employed a live-in servant. He had a brother Douglas Alfred, 3 years older, who was an inspector of insurance agents, and another sibling who died in infancy. Gerald was a carriage proprietor’s clerk in 1911 and married Sylvia Eileen at St Luke’s Battersea on 27 January 1917, by which time, he was a Second Lieutenant.
Sylvia gave her address to CWGC after the war as “Lynden”, Claygate, Surrey. Gerard is noted as having gone to France in 1914 with the Queen’s Westminster’s and later being a “Commandant” of a Prisoner of war Camp.
Leonard Harris Cowper: Tuesday 7th November 1916
Leonard became a Second lieutenant with 20th (Tyneside Scottish) Northumberland Fusiliers and died of wounds, received the previous day, aged 19 and is buried in Trois Arbres Cemetery, Steenwerck. The grave inscription reads:
“THEY SHALL RECEIVE A BEAUTIFUL CROWN AT THE LORD’S HAND”
The cemetery was started by the Australian casualty clearing station in mid-1916. The area fell into German hand for 6 months in 1918 but appears to have been undisturbed.
Leonard is also commemorated on the Upper Clapton Rugby Club memorial where he was a member of the team. In 2006 the club introduced an award named after him following research into the names on their memorial. The award is made annually to a member of the most senior youth team, selected by committee. Part of a letter written to Leonard’s parents from his commanding officer said: “that Cowper had a smile and a word for everybody.” The Rugby Club now has the Leonard Cowper Board which proudly displays the names of those players who have been recipients of this award. This board has the following extract from the aforementioned letter: 2nd Lieutenant Leonard Harris Cowper 20th Tyneside & Scottish who died of his wounds on November 7th 1916 aged 19. His fellow officers & men remember him. He had a smile and a word for everybody.
Leonard was the son of Rev. Herbert William Cowper MA and Mrs Teresa Cowper, living at 18 Baskerville Road having previously lived at 38 Geraldine Road. Rev Herbert was the Poor Law Chaplin. In 1914 he was Chaplin to Wandsworth Union Workhouse & Tooting Home. In 1918 he was listed as Chaplin to Swaffield Road Institution & Tooting Home. Leonard had siblings Thomas, 9 years older, Dora Mary 5 years older a private school governess, William 2 years older and Laurence 2 years younger. They kept a live-in servant. The three youngest were born locally. Leonard was baptised at St Faith’s by the vicar on 2 October 1897. Baptisms at St Faith’s were generally conducted by Herbert who was the Curate.
John Henry Tait Corlett: Sunday 19th December 1915
John belonged to “C” Company, Queen’s Westminster Rifles where he became a Sergeant with a service no. of 1465. He was killed in action age 23 on 19 December 1915 and is buried at Ypres Reservoir Cemetery, which is within the town of Ypres.
John was one of four children of Arthur William Corlett of 16 Loxley Road, a tailor’s foreman from the Isle of Man and Ephemia, who was born in Scotland. Both John (born 1892) and his brother Arthur, 2 years younger, were born in Balham. They also had an older sister Winifred born (born 1889) and a sibling who did not survive. John was baptised at St Mary’s Balham on 16 September 1894. The family were living in Boundaries Road, in 1901. Prior to the war, John was a woollen warehouse apprentice and Arthur a tailor’s apprentice.
Families were allowed to add a personal inscription to the standard war grave headstone. They were charged 1d per letter to do so. In John’s grave inscription reads “Life and death go hand in hand ‘tis but a step one to the other”. This message would have been a considerable expense at the time and beyond the reach of many families. For new war graves, families are no longer charged, which account for the increased proportion of messages on new graves such as those in the new cemetery Fromelles.
Stephen Henry Collins: Monday 23rd December 1918
Stephen joined the Royal Engineers (No. 288717) as a Pioneer, before transferring to the 652nd Agricultural Coy., Labour Corps, where he was a promoted to Corporal.
He died aged 42 on 23rd December 1918 at his billet and was buried locally in Earlsfield cemetery on 31 December 1918. The grave appears to be unmarked, as are a significant number of WW1 graves in London cemeteries.
Stephen was a dairy manager living at 14 Belleview Road before the war. He was originally from Chislett in Kent and was married to Lillian May, having had one child, David Henry born ~1909. Stephen’s sister lived with them and they kept a cook. Stephen and Lillian later lived at 320 Trinity Road, while his parents Stephen and Mary Ann moved to Chislett, Herne Bay.
William Charlton Crawford: Friday 17th November 1916
Charlton enlisted in the 18th Royal Fusiliers as a Private, before later transferring into the 2nd Batt. Machine Gun Corp. On the 23 August 1916 he was put on General List (R.F.C) and Gazetted as a Flying Officer, transferring into the 24th Squadron, Royal Flying Corp. as a 2nd Lieutenant (T). The squadron flew Airco DH2 single-seater fighter aircraft and was commanded by Major Lanoe Hawker VC, DSO.
On the 26 October, whilst flying a DH Scout (DH2), he was slightly wounded in the leg by a bullet splinter when on Patrol. His brother Kelvin was wounded on the same day – it is possible they were flying in the same offensive patrol. Less than a month later he was shot down by a German fighter while on patrol over Ligny on the 17 November. A week later Major Lanoe Hawker VC, DSO was killed in a dogfight with Manfred von Richthofen. Flight, the Aero Club magazine, reported Charlton as wounded on 17 November. They issued a correction, saying it should have been K Crawford, then on 30 November, they reported him as missing, before confirming W C Crawford death in July 1917. Probate on his estate was granted to his father for £885 6s 3d.
He is commemorated on the Arras Flying Service Memorial and the Charterhouse Roll of Honour. Although his first name was William, he is listed on the SMM Memorial as Charlton, and so this was the name he used. He was probably known as Charlton to avoid confusion with his father.
His parents were William Archibald Francis, a Mechanical engineer, and Elizabeth Ann Crawford of 11 Routh Road. Charlton was born on 2 November 1893 and baptised at Holy Trinity on 17 December 1893 when the family were living at 275 Trinity Road. He had two younger siblings, Isabel and Kelvin. His younger brother Kelvin is also commemorated on the SMM Memorial. Charlton was educated at Charterhouse School from 1908-1911 and became an engineer on leaving school.
Archibald Davey: Sunday 14th October 1917
Major (T) Archibald Henry Pingston Davey was killed in action on the 14 October 1917 aged 36. He was serving with the 1st Bn. Royal Guernsey Lt. Infy. A shell burst and he was fatally wounded. An account of the action can be read here. He is buried at the Cement House Cemetary, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium. His grave inscription reads “… AND SUCH A DEATH IS IMMORTALITY”.
His next of kin are parents’ William J & Emily Davey, of London, and wife, Hester P. of 5, Springfield Terrace, King’s Rd., Guernsey. Probate of £589 18s 2d was granted in Jan 1918 to Hester, widow & William J. Davey esquire. His medals were claimed by Hestor in 1922.
Archibald (1881) had 3 brothers, Harold Wm (1880), Ernest D. (1883), and Reginald H. (1889). He also had a younger sister, Winifred E. (1887). In 1891 the family was living at 793 Hazleshursh, Marton Hall Road, Wimbledon. By 1901 the family are at “Uplands”, Merrow Road, Merrow, Guildford. Harold is working for his father, Archibald & Ernest are training as articled pupils in Civil Engineering & Chartered Accounting, and Reginald & Winifred are not living at home. Reginald is 1 of 9 pupils at 17 Oval Road, St Pancras, and living with Benjamin Ralph, a Schoolmaster & Dir of Laws. Winifred is boarding at Harrogate Ladies College, 1 of 37 pupils, living with the Headmistress Mira Jones, and a number of teachers. Archibald is living and working in Guernsey as a Civil Engineer by 1911. His parents are at “Woodlea House” on Lyford Road. Winifred is living with them aged 24. Harold has set up home at 73 Loxley Road and is Secretary to a Joint Stock Company & Secretary in a Firm Of Engineers. Archibald married Hester Perry Gotch in Kettering in last quarter of 1914 at Kettering.
In relation to his siblings, Winifred E Davey married John Charles Gibson in Wandsworth on the 4th July 1918. John seems to have been born in Kettering, and was a Weslyan Minister before the war, serving as a Chaplain to the forces between 1915 and 1919. Although not living in the Parish, Ernest & Harold can be found still living in Surrey on the 1939 Register. Ernest is a Chartered Accountant, married with a family, and Harold is married and described as a Chartered Secretary.
Reginald joined the 6th Battalion (part of the Reserve for Home Defence) Essex Regiment as Private (2047) in 1914, and by early 1915 gained a commission as a Lieutenant with the Royal Guernsey Light Infantry. He served through France and Flanders. In 1918-19 he had a telephone installed at “Woodlea House”. It is likely this was for his parents’ use. He may have become mentally unwell and took his life, on the 28 November 1919, in France. He is buried at the Terlinchun British Cemetary, Wimillie, Pas de Calais. His inscription reads “UNTIL THE DAY BREAK AND THE SHADOWS FLEE AWAY”
Further research shows Reginald went to The Leys School and he is commemorated on the Leys School War Memorial. He was in the same year and House as Bernard Henry Holloway. Here are some of the additional details they give: Reginald came to The Leys in 1905 at the age of 17 and went into North A House. On leaving school, he worked as a Civil Engineer and was an Associate Member of the Institute of Civil Engineers.
Although Reginald is not commemorated on the SMM Memorial, both brothers are commemorated together on the Channel Islands and Great War Memorial website.
Kelvin Crawford: Thursday 11th April 1918
Kelvin enlisted on 2nd September 1914 in Victoria Street with the Royal Fusiliers as a private. His attestation form describes him as age 19 years 4 month, having no trade/profession, 5’9” tall, weighing 140lb, 35” chest with 3” expansion, a fair complexion, blue eyes, light hair, Church of England, good physical development, a vaccination scar on his left arm and a scar on forehead. He had 3½ yrs in OTC at Charterhouse. He was in France with the BEF from 14 November 1914 to 20 March 1916.
He was posted as officer cadet on 23 March 1916 and granted a temp commission in the Machine Gun Corps on 30th April 1916. On the 26 August 1916 he was put on General List (R.F.C) and Gazetted as a Flying Officer. He shot down his first plane, a Halberstadt on 26 October 1916 on offensive patrol along the 4th Army front, nine days after he joined his brother’s squadron, the 24th. During this engagement, he was slightly wounded in the leg by a bullet splinter and his machine shot about. He shared a further two victories, flying a D.H.2 and a D.H.5, on 20th December 1916 (shared) and 2 April 1917 (shared), both Albatrosses. He was further promoted to Flight Commander (T Capt.) on General List (R.F.C) and Gazetted on the 21 Mar 1917, before scoring his second kill on 3 July 1917, when he and John Andrews shot down an Albatros D.11 flown by Stefan Kirmaier, commander of Jasta 2. He was then promoted to Flight Commander (Capt.) in June 1917 and went on to become one of the founder members of the RAF on 1 April 1918. He was later posted to the 60th Squadron in March 1918.
He was last seen on the 11th April when undertaking an offensive patrol over Bucquoy and he is presumed to have been killed during combat. He was probably shot down by Otto Konnecke at 17:15, while Kelvin was firing on a two-seater. Konnecke survived both wars. Kelvin is commemorated on the Arras Flying service memorial, but as the RFC was replaced by the RAF, the brothers are on opposite sides. He is also commemorated on the Charterhouse Roll of Honour.
Kelvin was born in Wandsworth and baptised at Holy Trinity on 7 July 1895 and also went to Charterhouse. For more information on the Crawford’s please read Kelvin’s brother’s page. For more details on his flying career with the RFC and RAF click here.
Louis Michael Dell: Friday 14th July 1916
Michael went to Emanuel School and St Paul’s and then became a clerk to an estate agent. He gained a commission as a Second Lieutenant in the 7th Batt. King’s Shropshire Light Infantry and went to France on 27th September 1915. He was killed in action, aged 25, at the battle of Bazentine Ridge in July 1916, which formed part of the Somme offensive, and is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial. When probate was granted his estate was worth £446 11s 6d.
Named after his father, but commemorated and known as Michael, he was the son of Louis Dell of 16 Frewin Road. The family had lived at 17 Boutflower Road in 1891, at 23 West Side in 1901, and 3 Routh Road in 1911. He had brothers Antony Warner, journalist, about a year older, and Montague Roger who was a flour miller’s clerk, about 3 years younger. Both of which also attended Emmanuel School. Their father was a cornflour merchant and the family kept two servants. Louis Senior had stood for election to the council, unsuccessfully, in 1903.
Montague became a Lieutenant in the 2nd Battalion East Surrey Regiment. He was hospitalised at some point between end October and 16 December 1916 as his regimental diary states that he had returned from hospital. He was made an acting Captain from 5th September 1917 to 15th December 1918. He also served with the Royal Navel Reserve. He won the Military Cross and Companion of the Order of the White Eagle (Serbia). 162 of these Serbian awards were made during the war. He survived the war, dying in May 1981.
Anthony also served during the war and survived.
Frederick Dew: Friday 24th August 1917
Frederick enlisted as Private 2701 with the 12th Batt. London Regiment. He left for France on 4th May 1915. He was commissioned as Second Lieutenant with A Company, 10th Batt. Durham Light Infantry on 28 February 1917. He was 23 when he was killed and is commemorated on the Tyne Cot Memorial.
Originally living at 29 Hendham Road, Fredrick’s parents Fredrick Benjamin and Gertrude Dew, moved to 31 Cheriton Square, Alfarthing Road and then to 4 Mayfield Road, Sanderstead. Frederick senior was the Assistant Superintendant of Mains for the City of London Lighting Co. Frederick junior and his brother Douglas (4 yrs younger) were born in Sydenham.
John Hampson Dodgshon: Sunday 1st October 1916
John joined the Honourable Artillery Company in July 1913, as a private and played rugby football for the Corps. He went abroad as a private with the HAC in September 1914 and spent the first winter of the war fighting in Flanders and France. He was invalided home, and on his recovery was gazetted a commission as a 2nd Lieutenant in the Surrey Yeomanry, Queen Mary’s Regiment, on 4 March 1915.
He served for six months in Egypt and was at the Dardanelles as Assistant Military Landing Officer. On his return to England, he declined a post as Assistant Equipment Officer in the Royal Flying Corps, as he felt he ought to take a more active part in the war. He obtained his “wings” on the 24th August 1916 and was made an instructor at the Central Flying School, Upavon on 7 September.
He was killed in an aeroplane accident, flying in B.E.2e No. 7075, whilst acting as Observer on the 1st October 1916. The crash report stated: “Crashed after elevator control disconnected, Wallis Down, Kinson, Branksome, Dorset. 2Lt John Hampson Dodgshon (23) killed, and Capt Harold Barker injured.” His is an example of how short the life expectancy of pilots was. Accidents were as much a risk to the enemy. His mother was granted probate of his estate, worth £6,801/13/7.
He is buried in Upavon Cemetery with a non CWGC headstone with a Celtic cross and was commemorated on Westminster School’s original Great War Memorial in their Great Hall; however, this was destroyed by bombing during the Second World War.
John was born on 29 July 1891 in Sutton. His late father, Edmund Dodgshon, was from Manchester, Jamaica and died in 1893. His mother, Rose remarried Herbert Hooper (an auctioneer) in 1900 and they lived at 99 St James Rd. He had an elder brother Edmund Charles 1888-1964, also born in Sutton.
In 1901 John was a boarder at a school in Sea Road Bexhill on Sea with his brother Edmund. At the time Herbert was the licensee of the Cock Hotel in Sutton. John went to Westminster School from May 1905 until Easter 1908 and was a member of the school cadet corps. By 1911 Edmund was a land surveyor and John a bank clerk. Both boys were living with the Hoopers who by this point had two more children Enid May born ~1905 and William Herbert born ~1902.
Oscar Wilfred Dodwell: Monday 10th May 1915
Oscar served for 8 years in No 1 Co HAC before the outbreak of war. He volunteered as a Sergeant in September 1914 and made a will at that point. He went on to become a Second Lieutenant with the 1st Batt. York and Lancashire Regiment. He died after being wounded and is commemorated on the Menin Gate. Probate was granted to his father for £1,774/3/5.
Oscar was the son of Wilfred Syms and Mary Elizabeth Dodwell of 22 Nicosia Road who married about 1882. William was a commercial traveller and later a varnish manufacturer. Oscar was born in 1888 in Wandsworth, the youngest of 3 children. He was baptised on 7 November 1888 at St Michael’s Battersea when the family were living at 1 Wakehurst Road. His sister Ida died in 1892. His brother Reginald Power was 3 years older. Reginald became a varnish manufacturer and Oscar a varnish manufacturer’s clerk. Both brothers probably worked for their father.
Two letters and a postcard Oscar sent to Reginald have survived and at one stage could be read on the internet (www.john-dillon.co.uk/yorklancs/8_may_1915.html). Amongst other things, he talks about is his fear of being selected for a firing party and the loss of his friends, one of whom was John Paterson who is also commemorated on SMM memorial.
Leonard Arthur Elmes: Thursday 1st August 1918
Leonard enlisted in the London Cycling Company with regimental number 359. When he died aged 24, Leonard was 1st Class Air Mechanic No. 402648, with the 5th Squadron RAF. He is buried at Aubigny Communal Cemetery Extension on the outskirts of Dunkirk. His estate was worth £108 0s. 4d.
This Cemetery was used in 1918 by the 42nd and 57th Casualty Clearing Station. The last Commonwealth interments were September 1918 making Leonard one of the last burials. Given the location and type of Cemetery, it seems likely that he died of injury or wounds.
Leonard was the son of Arthur and Annie Louisa. Originally native to Marylebone, Leonard was their only child, and he was baptised on 21st October 1894 at All Saint’s St John’s Wood when his father was a hosier. The family lived locally at No. 95 Fernside Road, but in 1911 the family were in Harrow. Arthur was listed as a house furniture dealer and Leonard an apprentice in the same trade.
Leonard is one of two men not listed in their alphabetic place. This may well be because his parents appear to have moved from the parish to 72 Gonville Road, Thornton Heath.
Eric Henry Evans: Friday 13th September 1918
Eric was born 17 November 1895 in Battersea and it is believed be was an SMM choir boy before enlisting in Plumstead as a Flight Cadet with the 64th Batt. RAF Training Reserve. His parents were Henry, a building trade commercial traveller, and Mary Ann. He had four siblings, all younger: Gladys Mary, Geoffrey Pearsall, Kathleen Sewell and Hilda Margaret.
He passed his flying certificate taken on an L&P biplane at the London and Provincial School, Edgeware on 18 May 1918. His certificate gave his address as 3 Weybridge Rd Thornton Heath. He is buried in North Sheen Cemetery which implies that he died in a flying accident in this country. Losses in accidents were unfortunately frequent and pilots career short.
Horace Norman Dudley Evans: Monday 3rd May 1915
Horace enlisted in Westminster and became Private 2188 with the 3rd Batt. Royal Fusiliers. He was killed in action and is commemorated on the Menin Gate. Probate was granted to his mother for £212/17/3.
Horace does not appear to be related to Eric. Horace was the son of Ellen Emma Evans of 30 Broderick Road. His father must have died before 1901 when the family were living at 137 St James Road. Horace was born in Balham and was one of nine children including Frederick Allen, an audit clerk in an estate office, born in Forest Gate and Guy Herbert, a clerk in an architects office and later an insurance ledger clerk, born in Dulwich, Bernard Saxby, who like Horace was a Lloyd’s broker’s clerk an older sister Helen Grace who was a private secretary in an insurance office, a sister Freda 3 years younger born in Clapham and one who died young. The family had certainly moved around. In 1911 they were living at 30 Wandle Road.
Edmund Fisher: Thursday 16th November 1916
Eddie enlisted as a Private at 16 having lied about his age. When he died age 17 he was a 2nd Lieutenant with 3rd Batt (att. 8th Batt.) East Lancashire. He is buried in Waggon Road Cemetery, Beaumont Hamel.
The following account from the Regimental Diary the previous day indicates how Eddie may have died, “At 8.30am on 15 November 1916, after the preliminary bombardment of their objective Frankfurt Trench, the men advanced between Crater Lane and Lager Alley in two waves. In the fog they got to within 50 yards of Munich Trench, ‘A’ and ‘D’ Companies leading the way, followed by ‘B’ and ‘C’. Suddenly they were fired upon by machine guns and rifles at very short range. The men went to ground, before being forced to pull back. Ten of their officers were killed in this attack on the Redan Ridge between Serre and Beaumont Hamel. Allegations were made that many of the 150 casualties were caused by ‘friendly-fire’. The battalion’s second assault in the Somme battle had ended in failure.”
Eddie was the son of William Fisher a commercial clerk of 8 Loxley Road. In 1901 the family were living at 1 Anholt Road in Battersea. He was the youngest of at least 4 children with older siblings William, Grace and Edith. He was educated at Emmanuel School where he was an athletics champion.
As can be seen from details from Emmanuel School, Eddie was a keen sportsman, Captaining the XV Rugby team, and was credited as being one of the School’s best athletes – perhaps one of the best all-round athletes of his generation: “1915 Eddie won the School’s Athletics Challenge Cup after winning the 220 yards; Hurdle Race; High Jump; Long Jump and the 440 yards. His excellent form gained Emanuel the Challenge Cup at the Public Schools’ Athletic Sports. The Portcullis recorded that Fisher won: The 120 yards Open Hurdles, the Long Jump Open, the High Jump Open and the High Jump Under 16… E. Fisher won the Hurdles in fine style by about two hurdles in 17 4/5 seconds. His time might have been better if he had been hard pressed. His High Jump and Long Jump were not the best he had done, for at the School Sports his High Jump was 5ft.3. in., and his Long Jump 19ft. 5. in. At the Public Schools’ Sports, his High Jump was 5ft. 2ins. (tied) and Long Jump 19ft. 3. ins. This was undoubtedly owing to an accident which happened… about a week before the sports, which prevented him from training. The accident mentioned in the notes involved Eddie putting his head through the window of a railway carriage but no further details of how he managed it have come to light.”
Joseph August Fleck: Monday 3rd May 1915
Joseph became Rifleman 1543 in “C” Company, London Regiment (Queen’s Westminster Rifles). He was killed in action and is buried in Houplines Communal Cemetery Extension. Probate was granted to his father, then a wine merchant for £146 2s 6d.
Joseph was born in Clapham and his parents were Augustus Philip and Agnes Fleck, living at 33 Baskerville Road. The family had lived there since at least 1901 when Augustus was a licensed victualler. Joseph was one of 5 children, in 1911 they were Agnes Dorothy, aged 20, a Civil Servant, Reginald Augustus, aged 19, a clerk, Joseph, aged 17, also a clerk, Audrey, aged 14, and Muriel, aged 10. Agnes married Francis Herbert Brand on 4 July 1914 at SMM. The family had a live-in servant.
After Joseph’s death, his parents donated electrification for the Church organ in his memory. There is a brass plaque to commemorate this. In December 1918 the parish magazine recorded this:- “Electric apparatus for the organ by great generosity of Mr & Mrs Fleck has now been installed and is actually in use. This is not only a very great convenience since the action can be switched on in four or five seconds from the keyboard, but its freedom from the jerkiness and unevenness of pressure inseparable from hand blowing will add considerably to the life of the organ. And of course, it will prove economical in other ways.”
Neville John Forbes: Wednesday 17th February 1918
Lt (T) Neville was killed in action alongside 2nd Lt Charles Frank Berry on 17 July, flying an Armstrong Whitworth FK8, serial number D5088. The crash report stated “Landed downwind and hit two trees at Sh20S8b63 after getting lost on special night recce. Lt NJ Forbes/Prob 2nd Lt Charles Frank Berry”. He was buried at Esquelbecq Military Cemetery, Nord, France.
Neville John was born in Johannesburg on 24 November 1898. He and his parents, Mr & Mrs F A Forbes, came to England on a Union Castle liner from Cape Town to Southampton in August 1903. He enlisted into the Royal Flying Corp. as Airman (79854) on the 3 May 1917 and was aged 18 Years 6 Months. His qualifications state “Misc Aviator”, and his occupation is given as Wharehouse Assistant. His father’s address is 25 Saunders Street, Yeovil, Johannesburg, S.A. He is discharged from service as an Airman after only 129 days, having received a temporary commission as a 2nd Lieutenant.
On the 9 August 1917, he is put on General List (R.F.C.) and is Gazetted as a Pilot Officer (2nd Lt). He started his training on the 15 December, and completed Wireless School on the 18 Jan 1917, attaining the rank of A.W. Pilot Officer. He became a Flying Office (2nd Lt) in March 1918, after which his service is recorded in his Officer’s Service Papers, starting on 1 April 1918 when he was promoted Lt (T). His father’s address is given as Houghton Court, 61 Houghton Drive, Houghton State, Johannesburg, S.A. On the 8 April, he joins 10 Squadron, which was responsible for spotting and bombing missions, and passed his Royal Aero Club Aviators’ Certificate on the 1 July 1918. The last entry states that “Service considered for the grant of war medals” but there doesn’t seem to be an associated Medal Index Card.
Alan Frost: Wednesday 17th October 1917
Alan joined 28th Battalion Artists Rifles. He became a 2nd Lieutenant on 17 October 1914 and transferred to the Machine Gun Corp, where he was attached to 259 Company. He was later promoted to Captain, and it is suspected he may have been a “territorial” before the outbreak of war like his brother.
He was killed in East Africa at the battle of Nyangao/Mahiwa. This battle was the company’s only significant action, where they lost 7 men killed and 4 wounded as well as Captain Frost. He is buried in Dar es Salaam War Cemetery, where he appears to be the only one of his regiment. His father was granted probate for £337/1/9 and his address was 122 Nightingale Lane.
The Dar es Salaam War Cemetery was created in 1968 when the 660 First World War graves at Dar Es Salaam (Ocean Road) Cemetery had to be moved to facilitate the construction of a new road. As the burials in the former African Christian, Non-Christian and Mohammedan plots had not been marked individually, they were reburied in collective graves, each marked by a screen wall memorial. During the early 1970s, a further 1,000 graves were brought into this site from cemeteries all over Tanzania, where maintenance could no longer be assured. Dar es Salaam War Cemetery now contains 1,764 Commonwealth burials of the First World War.
Alan’s parents were Ralph, a Managing Director of J Miles & Co Ltd (Artistic & General Printers 68-70 Wardor St.) & Westminster City Councillor, and Sarah who had died in 1895 but was originally from Manchester. Alan had a younger sister, Alison, and a younger brother, Kenneth.
Ralph re-married, Edith 20 years his junior, in 1906 and they had a son Max three years later. In 1911 the family were living at 11 Mayford Road. In 1911 Alan was listed as having the same trade as his father, and so may have been destined to take over the business.
There is less information on Alan, than on Kenneth, as an entry on the Roll of Honour of the Great War was not purchased for Alan as it was for Kenneth. It is assumed the entry for Kenneth was organised by comrades rather than the family. Alan and Kenneth are both commemorated on the SMM memorial. Their father was living at 13 Wandle Road at that time.
Kenneth Frost: Monday 22nd February 1915
Kenneth joined the Artists Rifles in 1909 and volunteered for overseas service at the outbreak of war. He went to France as a Corporal on 22 October 1914. Three months later he was given a commission as Second Lieutenant in the South Staffordshire Regiment. He transferred to 1st Batt. Royal West Kent Regiment on 16 February 1915. He was killed in action 6 days later at Zillebeke in Belgium. His commanding officer from the South Staffordshire’s described him “as one of the most promising young officers in his command both for resource and bravery. He is commemorated on the Menin Gate. Probate was granted to his father, then living at 11 Mayford Road Balham for £66 07s. 07d.
Kenneth was born in London on the 28th April 1892 and educated at Reading School. After school, he worked for a firm of wholesale stationers in London. After the war, an obituary and photo were entered in De Ruvigny’s Roll of Honour.
Kenneth’s elder brother was also killed and commemorated on the SMM memorial.
Sidney Charles Fry: Friday 15th September 1916
Sidney enlisted in Handle Street in the City and became Lance Corporal 1900 in the 1st Batt. Royal Fusiliers and was killed in action and is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial. Probate was granted to his widow for £377/15/-.
Sidney’s parents were Charles Edwin and Emma Julia Fry of 36 Brodrick Road. His father was a jeweller/watchmaker who kept a shop. In 1901 the family were already living in Brodrick Road. They probably moved there a couple of years earlier as the majority of the children were born in the parish of St George Hanover Square.
The family consisted of eleven children in 1911: Stanley Harbourne, aged 23, Beatrice Emma, aged 21, Elizabeth Gertrude, aged 20, Sidney Charles, aged 18, Russell George, aged 17, Arthur William, aged 15, Jessie Mary, aged 13, Leonard Edwin, aged 11, Frances Emma, aged 9, Clarence John, aged 7, and Ernest James aged 4. The youngest 3 were born locally and one must have died in infancy. Two children Frances Edna and Clarence John were not at home for the census.
Nine of the Fry children were baptised by Rev Wood at St Mary Magdalene in a batch on 5 November 1903. The eldest Stanley was baptised a couple of weeks later on 29 November.
Sidney’s wife, Annie Louisa moved to 163 Heythorpe Road, Southfields after his death.
William Frank Godfrey: Sunday 3rd September 1916
William was born 7 July 1896 and his family lived at 32 Bramfield Road. His father, also William, was a commercial traveller in wholesale drapery. Frank’s elder sister was born in Pimlico while Frank was born locally and they were living in Bramfield Road by 1901. He was educated at Emmanuel School from 1909-14 and played cricket there. He wrote an article for the Christmas 1915 School magazine detailing his doings.
Cecil Boyce Grundy
Cecil was working in Argentina when war was declared. He returned shortly after and enlisted on 23rd October 1914 at the Honorary Artillery Company in Finsbury as Private 2511. His attestation paper describes him as 20 years 7 months, 5’11” tall, 35” chest with 3½” expansion and physical development fair.
He served 118 days and was then discharged to enter Sandhurst on 16 April 1915 and was commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant into the 6th Batt Duke of Cambridge Reg. but attached to 1st Batt Middlesex Reg. He was shot in the thigh, and died of his wounds aged 21, and is buried in Betune Town Cemetery. Some of his correspondence survived and was featured in a Sunday Mail article for Remembrance Day. The letters were auctioned and are now privately owned. More recently the BBC did a short radio documentary, about Emmanuel School which features Cecil and brother Ronald.
John Francis Edwin Grundy (born Allahabad, India) and Emily (nee Brownsdon) Grundy, who married in Liverpool, had at least 4 sons; Cecil Boyce born April 1894, Ronald Edwin born 1897, John Brownsdon Clowes born 21 April 1902 and Rupert Francis Brooks born 6 September 1903 (baptised 25 October at SMM). They lived at 33 St James Road having previously lived at 55 Balham Park Road. The family were to move to 25 Riggensdale Road Streatham.
CWGC record their address after the war as 24 Buckingham Street Charring Cross but this appears to be John’s business address. John was a fine Art publisher who was master of the fine art trade guild from 1918-20 and 1922/3. He had previously worked from 4/5 Adam Street which is also in the Charing Cross area. Items he published still appear in quality fine art sales.
All four boys attended Emanuel School. The younger two were too young for the war and went on to lead the full lives denied their brothers. John got an Exhibition to Cambridge, did research at University College London and took up a teaching career which would take him to the Headship of Emanuel from 1953-63 and two years as head of Modern Languages at the University of Sierra Leone. He served as an intelligence Major during WW2. Among his publications was “Brush up your German”. He retired to Llansantffraid in Wales and died 17 July 1987. Rupert took an engineering degree at University College London and had a career in public and municipal engineering which included Wandsworth Borough Engineer and surveyor 1949-50 General Manager of the Corby Development Corporation. He died in Kettering 13 January 1988.
Ronald Edwin Grundy: Saturday 1st July 1916
Ronald was Cecil’s brother. He became a second Lieutenant in the 2nd Batt. Middlesex Reg. By the time he was killed in action on the first day of the Somme, his family had moved out of the Parish. He was buried but his grave was destroyed by fighting and he is remembered on the memorial in Ovillers Military Cemetery.
According to Lance Corporal Noyes, who wrote to Ronald’s father on 1 August, Ronald was killed instantly by a bullet which hit him about a quarter of an inch above the collarbone close to the neck on the left side and was dead before he hit the ground. The bullet came out via the spine. Lance Corporal Noyes dragged him to the advanced sap trench where he was left covered with his coat and reported to the Quarter Master Sargent.
Ronald went to Emmanuel School and is commemorated on the school’s Roll of Honour. Further information on the Grundy family, including information about his other younger brothers, John and Rupert can be found on the page of his brother. The brothers were featured in a BBC short radio documentary about Emmanuel School during the war. Some of his correspondence survived and was featured in a Sunday Mail article for Remembrance Day. The letters were auctioned and are now privately owned.
Albert Charles Hayett: Friday 22nd May 1916
Albert enlisted in Wandsworth and became Sapper 87070 in the Royal Engineers 204 Field Company. It was likely he was not a tall man as the Division was largely made up of men who did not meet the general height requirement. He was killed in action aged 20 and is buried at St Vaast Post Military Cemetery, Richbourg-L’Avoue, just east of Betune in Northern France, another casualty of the Somme. Albert also appears on a list of names missing but possibly should have been included on the Whitstable War Memorial.
Albert was born in Chester but appears to have grown up in Winchester. He is also commemorated on the Trinity Road Chapel Memorial as A E Hayett and so was probably a TRC member. His father, John Charles, had been a prison warder at Winchester prison (1901 census) and transferred to Wandsworth Prison by the 1911 census where the family home was 58 Prison Quarters. In 1901 Albert was the youngest of five children; Jessie, aged 12, William, aged 10, Winifred, aged 7, Albert, aged 5, and one who had not survived. By 1911 Albert was a joinery apprentice.
Arthur Robert Herne: Sunday 8th October 1916
Arthur became Lance Corporal 5276 in the 1/16th Batt. London (Queen’s Own Westminster) Regiment. He was killed in action aged 25; his body was never found and is commemorated on the Theipval Memorial, one of 72,195 missing of the Battle of Somme.
The Herne family had lived at 22 Althorpe Rd since at least 1901 and their father was a Carpenter/joiner originally from Norfolk. Arthur and George, both born in Battersea, were Robert and Sarah Ann’s their only children. By 1911 Robert had become a solicitor’s estate foreman. The family were to lose both boys. Both brothers were born in Chelsea, became insurance clerks and joined the London (Queen’s Own Westminster) Regiment, 1/16th Batt, D Company.
George Humphrey Herne: Tuesday 5th November 1918
George joined the 1/16th (County of London) Battalion (Queens Westminster Rifles) Regiment, with regimental no. 808 where he became a Sergeant, serving from November 1914 in France and Flanders, and rose through the ranks to become Company Sergeant Major with service no 550040. He died of his wounds aged 29 and is buried at Maing Communal Cemetery Extension in France.
George and Arthur are commemorated in one of the greatest works on soldiers killed in the Great War, which was subscription based, entitled “Soldiers Died in the Great War.” It was published in many parts, with each part focusing on a particular regiment.
George’s younger brother Arthur had been killed in action two years previously with the same regiment. George was born in Chelsea and baptised on 10 February 1889 in St Luke’s Chelsea. The family ’s neighbours at 24 Althorpe Road, George and Eliza Abbott, would loose their son George a few months later.
Geoffrey Wilfred Hills: Thursday 14th June 1917
Geoffrey became a second Lieutenant in the 10th Batt. London Regiment. He was killed aged 22 and is buried in the HAC Cemetery at Ecqust-St. Mein which is a village between Arras, Cambrai and Bapaume in France.
Geoffrey’s family lived at 20 Loxley Road having moved from Clapham. His parents were Alfred, an insurance clerk and Fanny Sophia. He had a brother Claude, a furniture salesman, who later applied for Geoffrey’s medals on his mother’s behalf. There was also a brother Alfred four years older than Geoffrey but he did not survive to 1911.
Percy Hodges: Thursday 25th April 1918
Percy Hodges enlisted with the King’s Own Scottish Borderers Regiment as Private 41030, and later gained a temporary commission as Second Lieutenant in the Seaforth Highlanders. It seems likely he was killed during the Battle of the Lys and is buried at the Clytte Military Cemetery, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium.
His grave inscription reads “RATHER DEATHE THAN FALSE OF FAYTHE.” His regiment is wrongly given as the King’s Own Scottish Borderers Regiment, but this may be explained as he received his t/comm 10 days before his death. His next of kin are John and Elizabeth Kate Hodges, of 9, Heathfield Rd., Wandsworth. Probate of £291 was awarded in 1919 and stated Percy lived at 9, Heathfield Rd.
Percy was born in 1895 and was baptised on the 26 June at Battersea Christ Church, Wandsworth, the son of John, a Commerical Clark, and Elizabeth Kate Hodges. They were living at 56 Thirsk Rd, Lavender Hill, and continued to do so until sometime after 1911 when they moved to the Parish. The family had two other children, Frank Stephen, born 1897, and Elizabeth, born 1900. They had 1 servant.
Percy is commemorated on SMM Memorial after Bernard Holloway rather than in his strict alphabetic place. Hodges is the only surname on both the SMM First and Second World War memorials. The WW2 Hodges is likely to be Dennis William Hodges from Balham, who served with the RAF Volunteer Reserve and died 19 October 1942, being buried in Earlsfield. He is also listed on the TRC memorial. There is, however, as yet no indication that they were related.
Harry Hoffman: Tuesday 3rd September 1918
Harry enlisted as Private 204509 in the 1 Batt. Norfolk Regiment at Kingston on Thames. He was wounded while attached to the 15th Mortar Batt. and died of his wounds aged 30. He is buried in Euston Road Cemetery at Colincamps just north of Albert on the Somme.
Harry was born in Westminster and his parents were William Gayland, a confectioner, and Mary Ann Hoffman. He was a portmanteau maker, married to Frances Elizabeth, had a daughter, Dorothy May, born in 1911 and was living at 11 Nottingham Road.
Bernard Henry Holloway: Monday 27th September 1915
Bernard was commissioned on the 23rd September 1914, as 2nd Lieut., Royal Sussex Regt., promoted to Lieutenant in October 1914, and Captain in 9th Batt. in December 1914. He served in France and was killed in action during the Battle of Loos, on 27 September, aged 27, the same day that Rudyard Kipling’s son Jack was killed. Bernard has no known grave and is commemorated on the Loos Memorial.
He is also commemorated on his School Roll of Honour, College Roll of Honour, at Lords, on the legal profession Roll of Honour, and the Upper Tooting Methodist Church Memorial. This church was destroyed in WW2. When the memorial was replaced, his name was recorded as H Holloway.
He left £10,540 in his will, a very large sum for 1916. His estate was split between his father and 2 brothers. His investments in war loans were left to a Miss Louisa Douglass Chapple*.
Bernard was born at Burntwood Grange on 13 January 1888. The Grange was a sizable pre-Victorian mansion, noted for its magnificent Gardens and conservatory, on the site of what is now Burntwood Grange Road. It was demolished circa 1940.
According to his obituary in Wisden, he went to Leys School, Cambridge, aged 11 in 1899 (founded 1875 for the sons of lay Methodists) and then to Jesus College Cambridge. He was a sportsman, playing rugby, cricket and lacrosse, the latter two for England.
At school, he was a Senior Prefect, and a very useful all-round player, proving himself a good Captain of Cricket. He was third in the batting averages in 1904, second in 1905 and 1906, in the latter year with 35.81, and top in 1907, when his figure was 35.75. In the last-mentioned season, he also took twenty-two wickets for 14.59 runs each. He was in the same year and House as Reginald Davey
At Cambridge, where he did not obtain his blues for Cricket, he did little in the trial games save in 1911 when, in the Seniors’ match, he scored 52 and made 133 for the first wicket with C. G. Forbes-Adam (78). During 1910-11 he visited the West Indies as a member of the M.C.C. team, making 443 runs with an average of 24.61, and rendered excellent service: his highest score was 100 v. British Guiana at Georgetown.
In 1911 and three following seasons he appeared occasionally for Sussex, for which side his best performances were against his old University, on the Cambridge ground, in 1913 and 1914, his scores being 58 not out and 32 not out, and 54 and 15. He was a right arm medium fast bowler and made 19 first-class appearances. The war ended his first-class cricket career. (For further information, his batting averages can be studied on the Cricinfo website).
He played half-back at Rugby football for Cambridge v. Oxford in 1907, and centre three-quarter back in 1909 (taking a blow to the head early in the match, he imagined the sensation must have been comparable to the feeling of a drunken man! given he was a lifelong teetotaller). For which he obtained his Rugby colours. He was also in the University Lacrosse XII in 1908-9-10, being Captain in 1910, in which year he played for England.
His nickname was “Babe”, due to having “a complexion which would have created the reputation of any face cream on the market”. Bernard Holloway was a popular figure at the College. His Cock of the Roost profile, written for Chanticlere in 1910, remarks that “To his contemporaries, he will be one of the most delightful memories of these golden years.”
Professionally he was articled to J. C. Barnard, of 47 Lincoln’s Inn Fields and trained as a solicitor.
Bernard was the third son of Sir Henry Holloway, who was a prominent Liberal and JP., being knighted in 1917 for his advice to the Government on the WW1 housing crisis. Henry and his brother had founded Holloway Brothers, a major local building firm, in 1882, and the firm still existed as Holloway, White Allom Ltd until it went into administration in October 2011. Sir Henry moved to Wimbledon in 1919 and eventually to Westgate House near Arundel and died in 1923.
David Lloyd George, the Prime Minister, from 1916, had lived at 2 addresses in the parish from 1900-1908 before his move to Downing Street on becoming Chancellor, and would no doubt have known Henry Holloway.
Bernard had two elder brothers, Roland Eveliegh and Herbert John, who went into the family firm. One was knighted for his contribution to Mulberry Harbours in WW2. Herbert lived in Wimbledon while Roland lived at 60 Lyford Road (a Holloway Bros. house).
The family firm was responsible for building the Magdalene Park Conservation area. The scheme was to have been a garden suburb, but the completion of the scheme was frustrated, by the compulsory acquisition of the land between Swaby Road and Openview by Wandsworth Borough Council in the 1920s. The Council also acquired the land between Fieldview and Ellerton Road in the 1930s. The family firm also built a number of landmarks including Chelsea and Westminster Bridges, the extension to the Bank of England, Lavender Hill Library and Bagdad Railway Station.
*Miss Louisa Douglass Chapple married Cedric Blaker, C.B.E., M.C. in 1921. She had two children and died at the age of 93 in Lindfield, Sussex, in 1985. Cedric and Bernard both served in the Royal Sussex Regiment, though it seems Cedric served in France after Bernard’s death. Louisa was a V.A.D. Nurse during the war. To read further click here. Lastly, an emotive “imagined” letter addressed to Bernard Holloway from Louisa’s granddaughter explaining her grandmother’s motives for going out to France with the V.A.D.
Edward William Hyner: Wednesday 28th July 1915
Edward enlisted as private 4634 in the 2nd Dragoon Guards (Queen’s Bays/Troop). He rose to Sergeant. His regiment was part of the British Expeditionary Force, “the Old Contemptibles” and Edward may well have fought in France. Unfortunately, his records do not survive, so we cannot be sure. The Queens Bays had been based in Aldershot until they left for France in Autumn 1914, and he may have been in their home base or on leave when he died. He died in Farnham aged 33 and is buried at Farnham Upper Hale Cemetery.
Edward was born in Holborn. He had been a Sergeant in the Household Cavalry of the Line (including Yeomanry and Imperial Camel Corp) in 1901. Ex-servicemen were prime recruits to the Prison Service and by 1911 he was an assistant Warder at Feltham. By the outbreak of War, he had become a Warder at Wandsworth Prison.
He was married to Florence Elizabeth and they baptised Gwendoline Hilda on 22 April 1914 and on 19 March 1916, Frances Joyce at SMM. As a Prison Warder Edward and his wife Florence would have lived in the Prison Quarters. Edward was probably in the reserve and would have been called up at the outbreak of war. After Edward’s death, Florence remained at Upper Hale Farnham.
Edward was one of three Warders from Wandsworth Prison killed in the Great War. Of the other two, Charles Strickland is commemorated on SMM Memorial, but John Upton is not. In 1928 these men both had roads named in their honour when the Prison Housing Estate was developed, but Edward did not. This may be down to the fact that perhaps he died in England, not in action, or perhaps was not considered local, due to being relatively new to the area.
Harry Leonard Leaver: Wednesday 15th November 1916
Harry enlisted 11 November 1915 as Private 5241 at Armoury House, Finsbury into 1st Batt. Hon. Artillery Company. His attestation form describes him as age 24 & 10 mth, 5’4½” tall, 33” chest with 2½” expansion and fair physical development. He embarked for France on 22 September 1916 and was killed in action some 6 weeks later. He was buried and later reburied in Ancre British Cemetery, Beaumont-Hamel.
His effects returned to his family were – safety razor, mirror broken, brush and comb, badge, wrist watch broken, and a holdall.
Harry’s family had lived at 55 Charminia Road Tooting but had moved to 34 Cockerton Road. His parents were Edward (manager in Brewing Company) and Ellen. Harry was one of three children with brothers Elias 2 years younger and Edward Martin 11 years his junior. He was an apprentice in the woollen trade by 1911.
It appears he did not leave a will as his family were asked to provide a witnessed statement of his next of kin. At 15 May 1919 he had 2 surviving brothers still living at 24 Cockerton Road, Edwin Martin age 17 and Elias Walter age 27 and no sisters. The statement was witnessed by Rev J M Crawford Murray of Holy Trinity Church.
William John Lockett: Wednesday 3rd October 1917
William enlisted in Battersea on 13 June 1915 and became Gunner 52614 in the 123rd Bty., Royal Field Artillery. He was wounded prior to the 3rd October 1917. Field ambulances were stationed in the Convent of St. Antoine and William would have been treated there. He died of his wounds and is buried in Locre (now Loker) Hospice Cemetery in West-Vlaanderen, Belgium.
William’s parents were William, a carter, and Sarah Jane, who had moved to 62 Wandle Road by 1901. He was born in Clapham and baptised in Holy Trinity Clapham on 18 December 1881. Wilfrid, his brother, was baptised in St Anne’s on 26 April 1889 when the family lived in Beechcroft Road.
Both William and his brother Wilfred Roberts fought in the Great War. Wilfrid survived the war, was discharged on 14 July 1919 and, returned to work, and eventually took over the General Grocers at 186 Trinity Road.
During the war, the shop was run by the Mancktelow Family, who were to lose 2 family members in the conflict, who are commemorated on the Trinity Chapel Memorial. William still has a niece in the current SMM congregation.
Douglas Charles Lumley: Tuesday 19th September 1916
Douglas became Private 3549 in the 1st/2nd Batt London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers). He was killed in action aged 18 and has no known grave. He is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial.
Douglas’ parents were Charles Henry (buried 6 July 1918, age 52) and Emma Augusta Lumley of 69 Broderick Road who had married in 1895. He was born in Tooting and baptised at Holy Trinity on 10 March 1898 when his father was a builder/contractor. In 1901 the family were living with Charles’ sister Florence and her husband William Shipley who was also a builder. By 1911 the family had moved to Broderick Road. Douglas was the eldest of 3 surviving children with a brother Maurice Henry, 4 years younger and sister Sadie 5 years his junior. One other child had not survived.
Robert Lyon: Wednesday 13th October 1915
Robert was a bank clerk before the war and became a sergeant with H Company, 14th Battalion London Regiment (London Scottish). He was killed in action in the final offensive of the battle of Loos, which failed due to lack of hand grenades. He has no known grave and is commemorated on the Loos memorial. He left £1375 05s. 06d. to his mother.
Robert was one of four children. Their parents were Robert Mair and Annie. Robert senior was a physician and surgeon and he and his 3 elder children came from Ayrshire. In 1911 the family were living at 200 High Road south Tottenham and then moved to 10 Baskerville Road. Robert junior had one brother, who was 2 years older and a medical student, a sister, who was 2 years younger, and another brother who was 4 years younger and born in Tottenham.
Archibald Guy Magdelin: Monday 9th April 1917
Archibald attestation form describes him as a single farmer from Glenbera, Manitoba and 5’7” tall, 35” chest with 3” expansion fair complexion with blue eyes, light brown hair and a scar on his right wrist. He gave his denomination as Church of England and enlisted at Winnipeg on 7 February 1916. He was Private 871104 with the 78th Canadian Infantry (Manitoba Regiment).
He was reported first missing, and then killed in action, in the attack on Vimy Ridge. The Canadian army death notice shows him as being C of E. He is one of 29 Canadian soldiers buried at the time in the 11th Canadian Infantry Brigade Cemetery, Givenchy-en-Gohelle, but whose graves are now lost and are commemorated by special memorial headstones, inscribed to this effect in the Canadian Cemetery No2, Neuville-St. Vaast. His headstone carries the additional message, “Their Glory shall not be blotted out”. He listed his mother as his next of kin.
He was born 12 October 1885 and baptised at St Anne’s on 4 March 1886. His parents were George Charles Jules, a French cook, and Sarah Ann Magdelin of 64 Brodrick Road. He had an elder sister Isabella who was a Civil Service telegraph learner and an elder brother who in 1901 was a mechanical engineer. He emigrated to Canada in 1902. He appears to have returned for a visit going back to Canada on 19 March 1914. The 1916 Canadian census lists him as a Presbyterian labourer living in Souris, Manitoba.
Henry Arthur Malsch: Saturday 26th August 1916
Henry enlisted 13 January 1915 at Blackboy Hill Western Australia describing himself as single, a farm labourer, 30 yrs 11 days, 5’8” tall 140 lb, chest 32½/35, fair complexion, blue eyes, fair hair, a vaccination scar and Church of England. He appears to have been discharged on 12 March 1915 as absent without leave and enlisted again at the same place on 24 March 1915 described this time as a clerk. He embarked from Adelaide on HMAT A2 Geelong 18 November 1915 and disembarked on 23 December 1915 at Suez. He was lucky not to be on Geelong’s following voyage as it hit another transport ship and sank! He spent time in Ismailia and Cairo. He overstayed leave in Ismailia and was drunk in Cairo.
He arrived at Boulogne with 32nd Batt. Australian Infantry on 21 July 1916 and was listed as wounded same day. The 8th Field Ambulance diagnosed him with a shrapnel wound, but when he arrived in hospital, they diagnosed gunshot wound to the mouth.
On 27 August 1916, he died of gunshot wound to head at 13th Stationery Hospital, Boulogne. In December 1916 his father received a brief official letter to explain how and where Arthur died and that he was buried in Boulogne Eastern Cemetery.
His will left his property to his father. The list of his effects which arrived back with his father on 25 January 1917 is short, identity disc, wallet, letters, photos, 2 pipes, prayer book, religious book, shipping receipt and a linen bag. In November 1917 Florence Hannaford from Western Australia wrote to try and trace him; possibly the girl he left behind? She received a reply to say he had died and where he was buried.
Henry was born at 8 Gateley Rd, Brixton on 2 January 1885 and had emigrated to Australia after some time working as an insurance clerk in this country. He was still living in the family home for the 1911 census which showed that his parents had been married 29 years, and he had brothers William James, 27, an accounts articled clerk, and Edwin Covington, 22, a stockbroker’s clerk. He was listed on the register of electors until 1914.
His father William Mitchener Malsch (1855-1924) lived at The Lawn, 33 Lyford Road. William was a professor of music (Oboe) and taught Leon Gossans at the Royal Academy of music between 1911-14. According to the Parish Magazine William had to resign his secretaryship of the Mission Union as he had accepted an army commission. Edwin and his family are buried in Earlsfield Cemetery.
Charles I Martin: Sunday 9th May 1915
Charles and his mother Amelia Martin lived at 196 Beechcroft Road having previously lived at Number 61. He was born locally, one of 4 children, Edward (4 years older), Matilda (6 years younger) and Hetty (8 years younger). His father and elder brother were general labourers. Charles was an errand boy. He became Private 12352 with the second Batt. Gloucestershire Regt. He was 19 when he was killed. As he is commemorated on the Menin Gate having no known grave. It is reasonable to assume he was killed in action.
Daniel Masters: Tuesday 25th April 1916
Daniel was born in Wandsworth but enlisted in Merthyr while living in Glamorgan. Daniel became Private 14065 in the 1st Batt. King’s Shropshire Light Infantry. He died of wounds aged 33 and is buried in Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery.
This cemetery and the casualty clearing station which used it were close to the front but just out of reach of the German artillery near Ypres.
His parents, John and Elizabeth Masters, possibly lived at 103 Beechcroft Road. His father John was a retired Police Constable. He was one of 9 children and married Clara Louisa Smith on 1 October 1905 at St Nicholas Tooting. Clara remarried (Isaac) after Daniel’s death and moved to 24 Rookstone Road in Tooting. The census lists brothers David, William, James, Thomas, and brother Harry who is also on the SMM Memorial.
Thomas Masters was the second oldest son of John and Elizabeth. He joined the Royal Fusiliers as Private G25330, transferring into the Military Foot Police, Corps of Military Police as Acting Sergeant, dying in Mesopotamia on the 21 September 1919. He is buried at Baghdad (North Gate) War Cemetery, Iraq
He is not commemorated on the SMM Memorial, but he is commemorated on the Church’s Illuminated Roll of Honour.
Harry Masters: 10th March 1918
He enlisted at Clapham Junction with the London Regiment 2nd/23rd Battalion and became Private 701009. He is buried in the Jerusalem War Cemetery.
Henry/Harry was the son of John and Elizabeth Masters of 103 Beechcroft Road. His mother, Elizabeth, died between 1901 and 1911. His father had been a Police Constable but by 1901 had become a lamplighter for the gas company. Harry was a coal and coke porter (possibly a job gained through his father at the gas company).
Archibald Edward May: Wednesday 16th December 1917
Archibald May enlisted in Fulham with the East Surrey Regiment. When he died of wounds, probably having taken part in the Battle of Cambrai (part of the Somme campaign), he was a Private in 10th Battalion Enniskillen Fusiliers. It is possible that he transferred as part of a 2-3 dozen batch from the East Surrey’s in about March 1917.
He is one of 1754 Somme casualties lying in the Abbeville Communal Cemetery Extension. The area was to be fought over again in 1944 and a further 348 casualties were to join them.
He was born in Plymouth in 1877, the son of Adolphus, a ship’s clerk, and his wife Louisa. He had 4 sisters, Ida and Alice, older and Dora and Hilda, younger. He was married to Florence and lived at 59 Beechcroft Road.
Albert Moore: Friday 2nd June 1916
Albert Moore enlisted in the 1st Canadian Mounted Rifles (Saskatchewan Regt.) as Private 108397. He was killed taking part in the Battle of Mont Sorrel. He was initially reported missing, but on the 5 June at St Lawrence Camp, having been in the trenches at Maple Copse, for “official purposes he was presumed dead”. His denomination is given as Church of England, and it is stated he became a resident of Canada in 1914. He has no known grave and is commemorated on the Ypres Menin Gate Memorial, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium.
His next of kin is given as Albert Matthew Moore and Laura Cornish Moore, of 64, Hendham Rd., Upper Tooting, London, England.
Albert Alexander was born in 1897, the son of Albert Matthew, a Tobacconist, and Laura Cornish Moore. In the 1901 census, the family were living in Devon and he had two sisters, Constance born 1898, and Mary born 1900. They also had a live-in domestic. By 1911, Albert, now an Actor, and Laura were living at 64, Hendham Rd with three children, Albert Alexander, and siblings Edward born 1904, and George Arthur born 1908. There is no mention of Constance and Mary, but they may be living with relatives. On the 17 April 1914 he departs Liverpool for Halifax, Nova Scotia, on the vessel Alsation. His age is given as 17 and his occupation is listed as a builder.
Cyril Robert Wightman Mountain: Sunday 5th August 1917
Cyril was a Sergeant in the Dulwich College Cadet Corps. In April 1915 he got a temporary commission in the Cheshire Regiment and was sent to France a year later. He was invalided home after an accident to his knee at Vimy but he rejoined his Battalion in January 1917 and was second in command of his Company at Ploegsteert in Belgium.
He became a temporary Captain with 13th Batt. in June 1917, and was involved in the fighting for the Messines Ridge, after which he was chosen to represent his Battalion at a Review by the Duke of Connaught. On 31 July he took part in the Ypres Attack starting at Zillebeke (Belgium). On 5 August, aged 21, he was killed at Westhoek in the fight for Polygon Wood.
He was buried near Hooge but the grave cannot have survived as he is now commemorated on the Menin Gate.
He is also remembered on the Dulwich College Roll of Honour, which includes a photo of him in military uniform, and commemorated on the College memorial.
Cyril was born on 15 June 1896. His parents, Frank Brightman and Minnie Clara, lived at 8 Ravenslea Road. In 1911 Frank listed his occupation as a printer/stationer. They had been married 19 years and had 3 children Dorothy (16), Cyril (14) and Stanley (12). Frank’s widowed father in law was also living with the family and they had 2 live in servants. Cyril went to Dulwich College from 1910-15. He was a rugby player and played in the first and second 15s.
Francis Radford Noel: Friday 8th May 1918
Frank was born in Hammersmith and emigrated to Australia and became a station hand. He enlisted as Private 2373 with the 34th Batt Australian Infantry at Narrabri, New South Wales on 14 June 1916 giving an address of Pullaming, Gunnedah (possibly a sheep station).
His attestation form describes him as 22 years 2 months. 5’10¼” tall, weighed 153 lbs., chest 35”/39½”, fair complexion, light brown hair, blue eyes, very good physical development and vertical scars on his right shoulder and thigh. He gave his denomination as Church of England. He signed himself Frank not Francis. He also stated that he had spent 3½ years with Emanuel School Officers’ Training Corp. and that he had been previously turned down for military service on the grounds of varicocele.
He left Sydney on 17 October 1916 on board HMAT A30 Borda and arrived in Plymouth on 9 January 1917. He joined the 9th training brigade and was hospitalised with laryngitis for 10 days in February. He was appointed Corporal on 15 May and reverted back on 3 June. On the 4 June, he left Folkestone for Le Harve. He became a Corporal again on 6 June only to revert again on 4 July before marching to the front where he rejoined the 34th Batt. On 3 August he was promoted to Lance Corporal. On 4 September he was hospitalised with flu at St Omer. He was moved to a hospital in Boulogne and eventually rejoined his unit on 16 November (sounds like a bit more than flu!).
He had leave in England from 26 January 1918 returning on 9 February. He was in hospital again on 16 March this time with bronchitis. He was back with his battalion by 24 March and promoted to Corporal on 4 April. He was killed in action on 8 May. His will left his property to his father. His effects and medals were sent to his father but the list of them had not survived. He is commemorated on the Villiers-Bretonneux Memorial.
This is between Amiens and St Quentin on the Somme and was the scene of a German advance in April 1918 followed by recapture of the Village by the Australians in August. The memorial lists 10,766 Australians with no known grave and includes those recently discovered at Fromelles.
He gave his father and mother, Percy Noel and Annie Louisa Noel (nee Wills), as his next of kin, and gave his father’s business address (Solicitors) 29 John Street Bedford Row, London. In 1911 the family lived at 18 Nicosia Road. There were 6 children, William Percival (19 Engineering draughtsman), Francis (17 no occupation), Annie Phyllis (14), Walter Fredrick (11), James Albert Edward (9) and Claude Anthony (7). Francis Radford Noel was a pupil of Emmanuel School and is on the Roll of Honour.
John Agar Paterson: Friday 30th October 1914
John was educated at Dulwich College and RMC Sandhurst. He was gazetted as a 2nd Lieu in Bedfordshire Regiment 17 September 1913 and was single. He was in South Africa with the Battalion when war was declared. He went to Belgium arriving at Zeebrugge at 6:30 am on 7 October 1914.
The Battalion proceeded to the Menin Road, near Zillebeke arriving at 11 am on 15 October where they relieved a French Regiment. They continued to dig in and were ordered to march on at 10:50 pm. They arrived in the village of Gheluvelt at 9:30 am the following morning. Action started for them on 18th with the 3 dead, 24 wounded and 2 missing that day. After this, they drew back and entrenched. The next few days saw a constant round of attacks and trench work, often at night.
On 31 October they were ordered, at 2:30 am to occupy a small fir wood about 250 yards in front of their line which was then held by the North Lancs., and 2 platoons of C Company were ordered to hold this position. This wood had been subjected to heavy shell fire from two sides during the previous day. Shellfire started as soon as it was light. It soon became evident that the enemy was advancing in force on the left of the wood held by Capt Lemon and also on the right.
The Adjutant went to report the situation to Brigade HQ, and almost immediately on his return to Battalion H.Q., 2 orderlies arrived with an order from the Brigadier to retire fighting towards the MENIN-YPRES Road.
Part of the Battalion moved back in compliance with this order. An order was sent to Captain Lemon to retire from the fir wood. Part of the Battalion remained in the trenches till late in the afternoon about 4.30 p.m. when they were brought back and established a line which they held till relieved on 5/6 November. The losses were very severe on this day with 4 officers killed, 2 missing and 4 wounded. They did not record the number of others lost.
John Paterson was killed in the fir wood during an attack by the Prussian Guards. He is commemorated on the Menin Gate. According to the Battalion war diary, John was killed on 30 October, however, CWGC wrongly shows him as dying on 30 November. He is also commemorated on the Dulwich War Memorial.
John was born 19 November 1893, the son of William Morison and Margaret S (nee Agar from Glasgow) Paterson of 27 Baskerville Road. William was a manufacturer’s agent of 80 Gt. Portland St.
Some letters which Oscar Dodwell (also commemorated at SMM) wrote to his elder brother have survived. In one, written December 1914, he says “I have now lost so many friends that I shall not know what to do when I get home. Did you see young Paterson, Anna Paterson’s brother, was killed recently?” Oscar was to last another 6 months.
William Arthur Payne: Sunday 13th August 1916
Arthur enlisted at Shaftsbury Street North as Private 2823 in the 4th Batt. London Regiment, Royal Fusiliers. He was killed in action and is buried in Hebuterne Military Cemetery.
Christened as William Arthur he is commemorated as Arthur at SMM which implies he used this name to avoid confusion with his father who was also William Arthur. In 1911 the family lived at 13 Heslop Road. The census shows his parents had been married 27 years and had five children of which William Arthur was the eldest followed by Bertha Winifred (24), Agnes Muriel (21, milliner’s assistant), Constance Eva (19, Telephone operator) and Kathleen Elsie (12). The two eldest were born in Gosforth Northumberland although the younger children were born in Balham. His parents William Arthur senior, a draper, and Bertha later moved to 16 Loxley Road.
Alan Pearman: Sunday 29th September 1918
Alan enlisted into the 41st Battalion Australian Infantry as Private (5091) on the 5 June 1916, at the age of 16, claiming to be 18 and a farm-hand from Spring Hill, Queensland. He was killed in action with 41st Battalion, AIF, on the 29 September 1918, ages 18 years old. He has no known grave. His mother and father were William Arthur and Elizabeth Sarah Pearman of 46 St. James’ Rd., Wandsworth Common. He is commemorated on Villers-Bretonneux Memorial and Emmanuel School‘s War Memorial.
Alan Pearman was born on 14 September 1900 in Epsom. He had 3 brothers and 1 sister and his father was an Accountant. He attended Emmanuel School. On 31 October 1916, aged just 16, he set sail from London on the SS Tainui, bound for Hobart, Tasmania. The ship’s ledger stated he was a “Dreadnought Lad“. The scheme provided for 3 month’s training, with no guarantee of employment.
On 14 June 1917, still only 16 having enlisted in Australia, Alan set sail from Sydney on HMAT Hororatan. The AIF had been involved in heavy fighting at the Battle of Messines through the Spring and Summer offensive of 1917, and it is possible that this had caught his imagination. Alan survived the Passchendael offensive and was involved in the Spring and Summer offensives of 1918, including the first American involvement of the war at the Battle of Hamel and the Australian-US Battle of St Quentin Canal which was the Regiment’s final involvement in the war, and where tragically Alan was killed on the first day of the offensive.
Frederick Gordon Peasnell: Monday 20th May 1918
Frederick enlisted at Catford in the 3rd Signal Squadron, Royal Engineers. His medal card indicates that he drowned. He is buried in Crouy British Cemetery, Crouy-sur-Somme. Probate was granted to his widow of 320 Trinity Road for £226 16s 11d.
From the location of his grave within the cemetery, it is likely that he was buried by the 5th or 47th Casualty clearing station.
Frederick was born in St Pancreas and was the son of William Perridge, a bricklayer. He married Eleanor Amelia Miell of 14 Bellevue Road at SMM on 26 December 1912. Rev Wood officiated. She was 26 and he was 22 and gave his address as 13 Hampden Road Upper Holloway and his occupation as clerk. His widow later moved to 107 Inderwick Road, Stroud Green.
Percy Peck: Tuesday 6th November 1917
Percy enlisted in Putney probably first as Private 272820 in the Army Service Corp. At some point, he either transferred or was discharged and re-enlisted as Private 36723 with the 5th Batt. Essex Regiment. It is not possible to say how Percy died but he was killed in action of 6 November 1917 and a study of the Battalion Regimental history for the day he died gives a good idea of what his battalion were doing and what may have happened to him.
The Essex Regiment were stationed in the Middle East, as they were in WW2. The 5th Batt fought the third Battle of Gaza which penetrated and broke the enemy defence system from Gaza to Beersheba and became a prelude to victory in Palestine and Syria. The enemy, in this case, was the Ottoman Empire who were German allies. This is still an area in turmoil today. At 11 pm on 5 November the men were given a hot meal and a pint of beer. This was eaten to the roar of Turkish artillery fire. The men moved to their assembly point and by 2:30 am on Tuesday 6th November 1917 silence reigned and all was ready for the attack. Tanks went in at 2:55 am and the men deployed soon after. The moon had disappeared, the light was bad and they had to rely on compasses for direction. Within half hour a runner indicated that notwithstanding Turkish resistance the enemy front line was in British hands. Many Turkish soldiers had come out of their trenches and were lying in front of the trenches and “met the Essex men with bayonets”. At the end of the day 2 Officers and 73 other ranks were killed, 9 missing and 262 wounded. It is likely that Percy was among those lost. He does not have a known grave and is commemorated on the Jerusalem Memorial.
Percy was born in Tooting and was probably the son of Amos and Madeleine Mary Peck of 47 Wandle Road. In 1901 they had six children, Minnie (17, blouse machinist), Edward (16), Ernest (14), Percy (12), William (9), and Ethel (6). Amos had died by the end of the war and had been a furnace stoker for a chemical works. Percy had married Winifred Ada and they lived at 23 Stanley St., South Lambeth.
George William Pendrey: Thursday 4th October 1917
George enlisted as Private T/201576 in the 3/4th Batt Queen’s Royal Surrey’s. He was killed in action aged 25. He is commemorated on the Tyne Cot Memorial.
The Regimental war diary gives an idea of what he may have been doing and how he met his death: On 4 October the Battalion had a planned attack at Zillebeke. Assembly was complete at 4:30 am. At “zero hour”, 6:00 am the Battalion advanced with the King’s Own Yorkshire Light Infantry on their right and the 1st Staffordshire’s on the left. They had difficulty crossing the Polygon Beck and then encountered hostile defences. The objective was captured on time and quickly consolidated. At zero hour plus 130 mins, the barrage advanced towards the second objective. This was captured and the Battalion withdrew to “Jetty Warren” and dug themselves in. The enemy made a counterattack at 9:00 am, dispersed by artillery fire, and maintained a continuous barrage until 4:00 pm. There was great difficulty in clearing the wounded. Enemy shelling continued through the night. Battalion casualties were 3 officers killed and 6 wounded and 49 other ranks killed, 184 wounded and 19 missing. It is likely George was among these casualties.
George’s parents Frederick Henry and Alice Louisa lived on 58 Calbourne Road. In 1911 the family lived at 2 St Paul’s Road Thornton Heath. There were six children, Francis Fredrick, 23, a joiner, Gilbert James, 21, also a joiner, George William,18, a grocer, Minnie Emily, 15, Ethel Winifred, 13, and Isabel Alice,5.
John Verity Poore: Tuesday 22nd April 1914
John was aged 17 and was a clerk and the youngest officer on board Cressy having been in post for 8 weeks. He plunged into the sea but drowned despite being a capable swimmer. He is commemorated on the Chatham Naval Memorial, Kent. Onboard HMS Cressy were probably the first parish casualties, representing both ends of the age range, John Poore and Charles Strickland.
22 September 1914 is still the Royal Navy’s blackest day and a black day for this Parish. Shortly after 6:30 am three cruisers, HMS Cressy, Hogue and Aboukir were taking part in a patrol in the North Sea Aboukir was hit by two torpedoes fired by the German submarine U9. It sank in 10 -15 minutes. Hogue and Cressy stopped to pick up survivors Hogue was sunk next and the last torpedo sunk Cressy. On HMS Cressy 1459 were lost and 837 rescued.
The Board of Enquiry after the battle criticised all senior officers involved. Rear Admiral Campbell told the enquiry he didn’t know what the purpose of the command was. The bulk of the blame was laid at the Admiralty for persisting with a patrol which was dangerous and of limited value against the advice of seagoing officers. Cressy and her sister ships, Aboukir and Hogue were older cruisers and unable to maintain the 12-13 knots asked of them. They were described as 3 inefficient cruisers, too slow and with an inexperienced crew of predominantly reservists and cadets. Cressy was built 1898-1901, was 12,000 tons and was the first British sea-going ship not to be copper-bottomed but to use antifouling paint (a saving of £40,000 and 500 tons displacement). It was state of the art in its day but past it by WW1.
John was born in Louiville Rd Balham, his parents were John Barter, a civil servant at the Board of Education, and Jessie Poore. The family later moved to 293 Trinity Road. His elder brother, Eric Vincent, 3 yrs older, was in the army services corps and appears to have survived the war. He also had a sister, Joan Verity, who was 6 years younger. John was educated at Highfield School, Trinity Rd, and Merchant Taylors. He was the War’s first fatality amongst Merchant Taylor old boys, and appears on their Roll of Honour.
Osmond James Prentis: Wednesday 18th April 1915
Osmond was in command of destroyer HMS Leopard in Devenport in 1906, and later was a Naval Commander (promoted 1 January 1909) of HMS Wolverine. According to the London Gazette of August 1915, he was posthumously commended for service in action between 19 February and 24 April 1915 in the vicinity of the Dardanelles.
He was killed by shore gunfire aged 40 at the first battle of Krithia in the Gallipoli campaign and is commemorated on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial. A Chief Petty Officer and Sub Lieutenant also suffered the same fate on the Wolverine that day out of a total of 12 naval casualties for the day. Probate was granted on 12 June 1915 to Geoffrey Holt Stilwell, a banker for £242.
The First Battle of Krithis was the first allied advance of the Gallipoli Campaign and the battle plan was described as “overly complex, poorly Communicated”.
Osmond James was born 17 July 1874 in Maidstone. Osmond was one of four children, Agnes 5 years older, Ellen one year younger, and Monica 4 years younger. His father was the late Captain William Taylor J., of the Royal Scots Greys, who was educated at Rugby, served in the Crimea, later being a JP & wine merchant, and having died in June 1890. He married Edith Mabel in 1904 in Portsmouth, they lived at 153 Trinity Road. He went to St Augustine’s College and the following appeared in the East Kent Times on 2nd December 1916.
Prentis, Commander O.J. Royal Navy. “Requiem Mass for Old Augustinians”. On Wednesday, the vigil of St. Andrew, a solemn Requiem was sung in St. Augustine’s College Chapel, Ramsgate, for the repose of the souls of the past students who have already given their lives for their country. The Mass was celebrated by the Right Rev. Father Abbot Egan, assisted by the Rev. Father Columba Swanson as Deacon, and the Rev. Dom Cuthbert Smith as Sub-deacon. Before vesting for the Holy Sacrifice, Father Abbot addressed the assembled students, making a touching reference to the sad events that had called them together to unite in offering to God, the all-powerful, prayers of the Mass for the speedy relief of the souls of those Old Boys who might still be explaining their faults in the purifying flames of Purgatory. He said that the long and slowly increasing list of heroes who’s deaths we had to mourn was a source of personal grief to him, for the names it contained recalled to his memory the edifying lives of so many that had been under his care for years. Those lives were the examples and models upon which the present boys might well strive to base their actions, even to the making of that supreme sacrifice which the country’s need might yet call upon them, too, to make. The Mass was followed by the Absolution for the Dead. A catafalque, covered by the Union Jack had been erected in the Sanctuary, the College Cadets forming a Guard of Honour, and the ceremony was one that filled the mourners with reverence and devotion.
Edith later moved to 9a Scarsdale Studios Stratford Road Kensington and is believed to have died in 1966 in Dorset. They do not appear to have had children.
Arthur Prismall: Sunday 14th March 1915
Arthur joined the 4th Middlesex RVC (West London Rifles) in 1881, receiving a commission in 1897 and retiring in 1905. Following the formation of the Territorial Force in 1907 he rejoined and was gazetted Captain 10 December 1907. He volunteered for foreign service at the outbreak of war.
As one of the officers of ‘D’ company, he sailed to Le Havre with the 13th (Kensington) battalion London Regiment on 4 October 1914. On 15 November he transferred to ‘B’ company, a few days before the battalion went into the front line trenches for the first time.
He was mentioned in Field Marshal Sir John (later Lord) French’s despatch of 31 May 1915 for gallant and distinguished service in the field. The Commanding Officer’s orders for the battle of Neuve Chapelle left it to individual officers to decide whether to go into action with drawn swords. Some did but it is not known whether Arthur was one of them.
Their Regimental History describes the Kensington’s experiences during Neuve Chapelle. C Company was involved on the first day and advanced at 9 a.m. to the village cemetery, where they had to take cover amidst churned-up graves. On the 12th of March, their C.O. (Lieutenant-Colonel Lewis) noted that by 12.25 p.m. the German bombardment of their positions (in the old front line) was “Perfect Hell”. The bombardment lasted for nine hours, and this ordeal can only be imagined.
On the 14th of March, as the battle fizzled to a close, Arthur was killed, aged 53 and was buried in Neuve-Chapelle Farm Cemetery, located in what was no man’s land before the battle. There are only 35 identified graves out of 60 soldiers who are buried here. Of these, all except one date from the time of the Battle of Neuve-Chapelle, and many are the graves of men of the 13th London (Kensington) Regiment, who started the cemetery during the battle. There are also a small number of graves from other regiments involved in the battle (such as the Lincolns and the Royal Irish Rifles).
The battalion history states: ” He was very popular, not only with his own company but with the whole battalion. The senior officer in age, he had nevertheless endured the long and arduous months of trench warfare, ever ready to encourage with a cheery word the men under his command. The sympathy of all ranks went out to his son Lt. M A Prismall who had joined the battalion two days previously.”
The Times reported his death on 17 May 1915. He is also remembered on the war memorial at the Private Banks Cricket and Athletic Club in Catford. At the time this was a first-class cricket ground. Probate was granted to his wife for £355 16s 8d.
Arthur was born 3 January 1862 and educated privately. He was born in Thatcham, Hants. to Samuel and Jane. He was one of five children 4 boys and a girl. Their father was described as a vetenary castrator.
He married Sarah Russell Thomson in the Spring of 1890. In 1911 they lived at 58 Cromford Road, West Hill but moved to 65 Loxley Road by the outbreak of war. They had 4 children, 3 of whom survived. The surviving children were Dorothy, born 1891, Maurice Arthur, born 1892 who was a bank clerk and later joined his father’s regiment and Alan born 1900.
Arthur spent 30 years working for Glyn Mills & Currie & Co Bank, the first private bank to publish half-yearly balance sheets. This is one of the constituent banks which went to form the current Royal Bank of Scotland and Arthur is included in their roll of Honour. His Bank was instrumental in preventing the collapse of Barings Brothers Bank, thereby saving a number of London’s financial institutions from ruin. You may remember the final collapse of Barings a few years ago following the actions of a rouge trader and the more recent woes of RBS. He is remembered on the RBS 1914-1918 Roll of Honour.
Lieutenant MA Prismall, who was educated at Emanuel, survived the War and then had to convince the authorities that he and his father were separate people and two sets of medals were issued. By this point, he had risen to Major with the London Regiment and been wounded. The War office noted his medal card as Arthur’s brother, this was an error and it should read son. In 1920 “M A” still gave his address as 65 Loxley Road. Maurice later moved to Kensington.
Clarence Henry Reed Harding: Friday 15th February 1918
Clarence enlisted with the 2/2nd London Regiment as Lance Corporal 2671, and then gained a commission as Lieutenant with Prince Albert’s (Territorial) 1st/5th Somerset Light Infantry, before transferring to the Royal Flying Corps., where he was killed aged 21 in the Middle East. He is buried in the Alexandria (Hadra) War Memorial Cemetery in Egypt.
It seems he entered his first theatre of war on the 7th of May 1917 with the Prince Albert’s (Territorial) 1st/5th Somerset Light Infantry. The regiment had served from Aug – Oct 1914 in Taunton as part of South-Western Brigade, Wessex Division. They then sailed on the 9 October 1914 from Southampton and landed in Bombay 9 November 1914, and remained in India until the 11 May 1917, when they landed in Suez, Egypt, coming under orders of 223rd Brigade, 75th Division. His Officer’s Service Records are available from TNA (WO 374/56649).
Clarence was born in September 1896 in Bath and by 1901 was living in Weston Super Mare. His parents were Henry John, a printer and Clara Reed Harding who by 1911 had moved to 10 Ousley Road. He was the eldest of 3 children with two sisters Doris May, two years younger and Grace Mabel 7 years younger. His father claimed his son’s war medals in 1922 and at that time the family were still living in Ousley Road.
Edward Thomas Sandell: Monday 1st October 1917
Edward enlisted in Wandsworth. He became Private 27292 with the Middlesex Regiment but by the time he was killed he was Private 65731 with the Royal Fusiliers. He was killed in action and is commemorated on the Tyne Cot Memorial.
He was born in Paddington and was baptised at St Paul’s Paddington on 3 July 1898. His father William Thomas was a butler and his mother was Elizabeth. By 1911 his father had become a Railway Special Constable with LB&SC Railway and Edward was described as a school houseboy. All William’s other 9 children survived.
Edward married Dorothy Winifred Pasby in 1915 and they lived at 54 Wandle Road. On 19 March 1916 their daughter Dorothy Violet was baptised, followed by their son Edward George on 6 May 1917. Dorothy senior died in 1973 in Sutton.
Frank Sheffield: Sunday 20th August 1916
Frank became Private 22627 with the first Batt. Northamptonshire Regt. He was killed in action aged 37 and is buried in Delville Wood Cemetery.
Frank was born in Leicester in December 1879. His parents were Joseph S Sheffield, an insurance agent and Maria. He was the second of five children. He was married to Mary Elizabeth Sheffield in 1907. By 1911 they had 3 children Stanley Frank Joseph, 3, Walter Thomas, 1 and Lillian Kate Mary 8 months and were living at 69 Fifth Avenue Queen’s Park. Frank was a house furnisher’s clerk. They moved to 154 Beechcroft Road.
Leonard Fredrick Slocombe: Sunday 25th February 1917
Leonard enlisted 1 July 1915 and embarked on HMAT A69 Warilda 5 October 1915. His attestation paper describes him as single, a shop assistant, 5’7½” tall, weighing 133 lb, chest size 34/35”, fair complexion, hazel eyes, brown hair with clear skin and denomination Church of England. He became Gunner 3112 with 11th Batt. Australian Field Artillery.
He served with the AIF in Egypt and France. And fought at Boursres, Fleurbaix, Armentieres, Ypres, Flers and Delville Wood. He was evacuated sick 13 November 1916, hospitalised 30 December 1916 with diarrhoea and Pyrexia rejoined his unit 7 January 1917 and on 31 January 1917 evacuated with a wound to his right leg. By 4 February this had been diagnosed as a fractured femur and he was described as dangerously ill with a compound fracture, gunshot wound to the right thigh. He died at 7 pm 25 February at no 11 stationery Hospital Rouen. He had been promoted to temp bombardier but reverted on evacuation as wounded. He is buried at St Sever Cemetery Extension, Rouen.
He had arranged to pay 3/- regularly into his Queensland Govt Savings a/c. He was obviously planning for a future. His effects were listed as 3 notebooks, postcard, linen bag and correspondence and these arrived with his parents Charles and Frances Agnes Ellen at 44 Endlesham Rd on 5 April 1917.
Leonard was born at Clapham in summer 1897. He was registered Leonard Fredrick but baptised on 23 August as Leonard Charles Marr at All Saints, Clapham Park. At the time the family lived at 39 Thornbury Road and his father was a clerk. He had a brother Reginald; two years older. By 1901 his father was a civil servant, 2nd division. Leonard attended Clapham Cottage School. He left England under the auspice of New South Wales government on the “Ballarat” in 1914, arriving in Australia age 17, and went to a farm school at Wollombai near Lismore. After leaving home he went to Lismore for his health and was employed there at the ‘Stores’.
Geoffrey Cholerton Smith, MC: Tuesday 31st July 1917
Geoffrey was a member of the OTC at Emmanuel School. In April 1915 he entered Sandhurst and was gazetted into Army Service Corp in August. He was sent to the front in September and was attached to a French mortar battery in June 1916.
He was awarded the Military Cross after an engagement at Delville Wood during the battle of the Somme. The London Gazette for 20 October 1916 states “For conspicuous gallantry during operations. He assisted another officer with the guns in a very exposed position until all the ammunition was expended. Together they then tended the wounded and arranged carrying parties under very heavy shell fire”. The BMJ of October 1916 lists him and others as having been decorated “in recognition of services rendered to the wounded”. At the time he was a 2nd Lieutenant (Alt).
On the 27 February 1917 he was put on General List (R.F.C) and Gazetted as a Flying Officer (Observer) with the 6th Squadron RFC, with seniority from the 4 February, Gazetted to Luitenant (T) on the 1 May, Luitenant 1 June, and was reported wounded in action on the 31 July (1st day of Passchendaele), dying later the same day.
There was low cloud and it was not a good day for observation. Geoffrey and pilot, Lieutenant H J Snowden were hit by machine gun fire as a result of flying low. Despite their injuries, they managed to land at H.Q. and give their information. Geoffrey died the same day of gunshot wounds to his chest in the Canadian casualty clearing station and is buried in Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery.
This is the cemetery with the highest concentration of WW1 flyers in Belgium with some 100 buried there. The pilot was brought back to England for treatment but died eleven days later.
Geoffrey was born 17 April 1897 in Battersea. His parents were Alfred James, Civil Servant with the War Office, and Mary Eleanor Smith. In 1901 & 1911 the family lived at 2 Honeywell Road later moving to 11 Magdalen Road. He was their youngest son. His brother was 5 years older and studied at London University. Both went to Emanuel School, with Geoffrey later attending the Strand School Brixton. The latter was a boys’ Grammar School which had moved to Tulse Hill from the Strand in 1913. It was distinguished in its heyday for its contribution of young men to the civil service. We can guess what his father had in mind.
After his death, his school friend, George Lyward, who had been turned down for military service and went on to be an educator, wrote a poem in his memory:
“Is such is the Kingdom.”
So young he was, yet dare we call him boy
Who himself dared so greatly, yearned to climb,
Higher, to taste all unalloyed the joy,
Of self forgot In faithfulness sublime?
We blamed him, praised him, for that mighty longing
That burning thirst which bade him drink so deep –
Still on his course he kept, and thronging, thronging,
The visions came, he followed, shall we weep?
Because he followed – mourn a faith that shone
Clear and unshaken? He who ne’er could tell,
The half of all he felt, now calls us on,
With no uncertain voice, a man he fell,
And falling rose to heights of finer joy,
A leader still and therefore still a boy.
George William Spencer: Thursday 17th May 1917
George enlisted at Putney and became Private 252441 with “D” Company, the 2nd/3rd Batt. London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers). He was killed in action aged 20 and is commemorated on the Arras Memorial.
He was born in Battersea. His parents were George Anthony and Elizabeth Spencer of 57 Sterndale Road, Battersea. George was a Carman Contractor. They had six children 3 of whom survived. George had younger sisters Edith Elizabeth a year younger and Jessie Annie Louise four years younger.
Harry Anderton Squier: Wednesday 19th April 1916
When war was declared Harry enlisted into the 18th battalion of the Royal Fusiliers at Westminster, becoming Private 2101 on 3rd September 1914. The fair-haired, brown-eyed 18 year old was 5 feet 4 inches tall and weighed 115 pounds.
When he applied for a commission on 24th August 1914, he was described as a single man who lived with his parents at ‘Cumbria’, Grove Road in Sutton, Surrey. His commission was eventually approved on the 22nd February 1915, when he joined the 10th battalion of the Bedfordshire Regiment.
After officer training, he was attached to the 8th battalion as a 2nd Lieutenant (T) on 20th March 1916 and embarked for Foreign Service on 23rd March 1916. He arrived with the 8th battalion on the front line 28th March. By 16 April his company was on the Ijser Canal. On the night of 19/20 April, three weeks after Harry’s arrival the Germans subjected them to 2 hours heavy bombardment, and attacked, gaining a foothold in British tranches.
After this Harry was listed as missing, 3 officers killed, and 3 wounded, 32 other ranks killed with 97 missing and 65 wounded. Harry’s body was found a few days later and buried in the Essex Farm Cemetery, Boezinghe, Ypres.
Not long before his death, his father moved to 15 Frewin Road in Wandsworth, and initial attempts to inform him of his son’s fate failed until a telegram finally reached his new address 5th May. His father appears to have moved to 16 Wiltie Road Folkestone after the war as this is where his medals were sent.
Harry was born 16th December 1895 in New Cross, Deptford, the son of Harry Squier, a wholesale hosiery warehouseman and Frances. Harry was baptised at St Catherine’s Hatcham on 1 March 1896 when the family were living at 92 Pepys Road and his father was described as a merchant’s clerk. Harry had a sister 6 years older, Frances Alice Mary.
William Francis Squires: Tuesday 2nd October 1917
William enlisted on 22 May 1916 when he was described as a single clerk 5’5¼” with a 35½” chest with a 2½” expansion. He joined the 7th reserve cavalry unit. He transferred to the Highland Light infantry with No 21585 on 20 June 1916 when he was described as “of good character”. He transferred to the Machine Gun Corps. (Cavalry) and was attached to 34th Company as Private 47658 on 17 August 1917. He died of his wounds aged 19 and is buried in Bard Cottage Cemetery near Ypres in Belgium. His military record survives and shows him as dying on 3 October while CWGC record his death as 2 October
He was born in Lewisham in 1898 and his parents, William Joseph and Eliza Jane lived at 23 Ravenslea Road. In 1911 William senior was an overseer in the central telegraph office, General Post Office. William was their only child.
Hugh Kingston Llewellyn Statham: Thursday 6th September 1917
Hugh enlisted at Valcartier 17th (or 23rd depending on source) September 1914 as Private 16813 with the 7th Batt. 88th Victoria Fusiliers and arrived in Europe with the first contingent CEF. His attestation paper describes him as 5’9” tall, 36” chest with 3” expansion, fair complexion, blue eyes, scar middle finger left hand, scar left wrist, 2 scars right forearm, mole centre-back, brown hair and Church of England. His address at enlistment was Thetis Island British Columbia.
He was commissioned into 3rd Batt. Dorsetshire Reg. 29 December 1914 and attached to the 1st Batt. He was killed in action, having survived 3 years, and is buried in Coxyde Military Cemetery. His Battalion was due to be taken off the front line on 1 October, 3 weeks after he was killed. His probate record gives him an address in Hampstead. Probate of £109 4s 8d was granted to his father, acting as attorney for his daughter-in-law.
Hugh was born 3 November 1886 in Cheddar and was educated at Windlesham and Dover College. He had an elder brother who became a doctor and served as a medical officer during WW1 (mentioned in despatches and awarded OBE) and a younger sister, Meta Freeman.
He was the son of the Rev. Samuel Percy Hammond Statham BA and Meta Statham. His father had been Chaplain to HM Forces, Christ Church, Dover and lived, in 1901 at Christ Church Villa in Dover where he was incumbent at St Mary in the Castle. By the outbreak of war, he was Chaplin to Wandsworth Prison. He was famous as author of a number of historical reference books including “The History of the Castle, Town and Port of Dover” published 1899. He died on 6 April 1940. Mrs Statham is listed as the daughter of The Venerable Hugh Stowell Gill, Archdeacon of the Isle of Man.
In 1903 Hugh emigrated to Canada on his own with his passage paid by his father and worked as a rancher, and so it is likely he never lived in the Parish, although he may have visited on leave. In 1904 he moved to America crossing the border at Winnipeg with $12. He must have returned to Canada by 1911 when he is listed on the Canadian census in British Columbia married to Margaret Renee nee Heneage, who had emigrated from England in 1906 and later gave her address as Jubilee Hospital, Victoria, British Columbia and so she may possibly have become a nurse or similar.
They had two children, Hugh Henry Llewellyn, born 15 April 1912 and Margaret Joan, born 17 November 1913. Hugh went on to serve with the Canadian Army in WW2. Margaret married Ken Ogden who was wounded in Italy serving with her brother.
Charles Strickland: Tuesday 22nd September 1914
Charles was on board HMS Cressy together with John Poore who is also commemorated on SMM memorial. Details of the action are in John’s section. He is commemorated on the Chatham Naval Memorial, at Wandsworth Prison Museum, and had a street in the Parish, Strickland Row, named in his honour.
Charles was a Warder at Wandsworth Prison living in the Prison Quarters. He had been in the navy before joining the Prison and his father, a veteran of the Crimea lived in Endlesham Road. As he had previous naval service Charles was probably called up as a reservist at the outbreak of war. He was 53 when killed and left a widow, Hannah, and 3 children.
After Charles death, the family had to leave the Prison Quarters and moved to 56 St Ann’s Hill. Two of his 3 children were to be killed before the end of the war. One son, also Charles, a Lance Corporal in 1st London Fusiliers aged 18, was killed 19 March 1917 and Alfred, joined the 21 Battalion Middlesex Regiment and was killed, also aged 18, on 09 April 1918. Charles and his two sons are commemorated on St Anne’s Church war memorial.
Charles is one of 3 Wandsworth Prison staff killed during the first War and a framed photo of him is in the Prison Museum. In 1928 there was a development around the Prison Quarters, and Strickland Row and Upton Row were created and named in memory of War casualties Charles Strickland and John Upton. Upton Row appears to have been lost but Strickland Row still stands off Heathfield Square. The third Warder, Edward Hyner is also commemorated on the SMM memorial but did not get a road named after him.
Otto Weddigen who commanded the U Boat that did all the damage was decorated for his efforts and published a book “The First Submarine Blow is Struck”. He went on to command another submarine, U29, which was eventually rammed by HMS Dreadnought on 18 March 1915 killing him. U9 survived the war and was broken up in Morecombe. A BBC sponsored diving team located the Cressy wreck in 2003, reporting it as in poor condition. The wreck is, of course, a War Grave.
Eric Arthur Trepess: Tuesday 19th November 1918
Eric became Private 29441 and a Flight Cadet with the 64th Batt. RAF Training Reserve. He was killed after the armistice in Stamford Lincolnshire and he was buried in Earlsfield Cemetery on 26 November 1918.
Eric was born in December 1897 in Wandsworth and was the son of Arthur and Louisa (nee Green) Trepess who had moved to 46 Lyford Road. Arthur was a saddler’s manager and in 1911 the family were living at 10 Wontner Rd in Tooting. Eric was one of three children. He had a sister Elsa Louisa who was three years older and an actress. She married a cotton merchant, Rupert Bottomley, in SMM on 19 June 1920. Elsa died in Powys in 1984. His brother Roy Francis was born in 1904 and died in 1981.
John Rawsthorne Tyrer: Tuesday 9th Otcober 1917
John became a Second Lieutenant in the 7th Batt. Manchester Regiment T.F. He obtained his Royal Aero Club Aviators’ Certificate at the London and Provincial School at Hendon on 21 February 1917 in a bi-plane, and on the 15 April he was put on General List (R.F.C), being Gazetted as a Flying Officer on the 1 September. He was killed in action in an aerial collision over Polygon Wood 8 months later. The Royal Aero Club magazine of 15 October lists John as killed. The Battle of Polygon Wood, part of the larger Battle of Passchendaele, had taken place a few days earlier.
He is buried in Bard Cottage Cemetery near Ypres in Belgium. His headstone (in Plot 5, Row A 37) lists both the Manchester Regiment and the Royal Flying Corps, as well as the emblem of the Royal Air Force (which did not come into existence until after he died). The reason for this is because when headstones were being put in place, airmen who died serving with the RFC, before it became the RAF, were given headstones with the emblem of that later service. Over time, the CWGC plans to replace these when stones are renewed, with ones bearing the emblem of the Royal Flying Corps. His family chose to add the inscription “Until the day dawns and the shadows flee away” on his headstone.
John was a native of Liverpool born 2 February 1895. His parents, Thomas Grace and Sarah Ellen lived at “Danesfield” 33 Henderson Road. Thomas was a manager of a local brewer. There were at least three other children all younger than John, Ellen Gran, Dorothy Margaret and Arthur Edward, born 1900.
As well as being on the SMM Memorial, he is also commemorated on the Holy Trinity War Memorial. He is the only person to appear on both memorials.
Gerald William West: Saturday 25th September 1915
Gerald was commissioned as 2nd Lieu on the 15 August 1914 in the 2nd Batt. Royal Sussex Regiment. He was killed in action on the first day of the battle of Loos when British losses were considerable, his body was not recovered and he is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial.
He is also commemorated on Emmanuel School’s Roll of Honour and the Regimental memorial in St George’s Chapel, Chichester Cathedral.
Gerald was born in Hull on the 18 April 1892. He was educated at Hymers College Hull, Emanuel School from 1904-9 (his death was noted in the School Magazine in December 1915), and King’s College London. He was 2nd Lieutenant in the OTC.
His father, M Henry F Dollond West of 1 Ravenslea Road, was a Civil Servant, Customs and Excise Superintendent Inspector and acted as honorary recruiting officer at Wandsworth Town Hall. Gerald was one of seven children all of whom survived to adulthood. In 1911 three children were living in Ravenslea Road, Gerald a Civil Service student, Reginald, 26, a Bank of England clerk and Marjorie G 20, a student of domestic economy.
Norman Gale Witherby: Friday 9th August 1918
Norman emigrated to Canada about 1905. On his attestation papers, he listed his occupation as farmer. He was 5’7½” tall, 44” chest with 4½” expansion, dark complexion, grey eyes, dark brown hair and extensive scaring of the throat and both arms. He enlisted with the Canadian Infantry (Alberta Regiment), 31st Batt. on 18 Nov 1914 at Red Deer Alberta and became Corporal No. 79610.
He was killed in action and is buried in Caix British Cemetery on the Somme together with some 20 other Canadians shown as falling the same day. Norman gave his brother H C Witherby of 20 Lyford Road as his next of kin.
Norman was born on 24 October 1885 in London. His parents were the late Rev Herbert Christopher and Mary Witherby of St Peter’s Vicarage Rochester. In 1881 Rev Herbert had been a curate in Streatham; the family hailed originally from Islington.
Herbert C Junior was the chief clerk to an assurance society and when his daughter, Joyce was baptised in 1906, his uncle Cornelius conducted the service at SMM. Cornelius died on Christmas Eve 1916 at 83, leaving an estate of £2623 7s 11d. He split his estate between Herbert C Junior and Mary. There was no mention of Norman. He did not live to see his nephew killed.
Rev Cornelius Witherby of 58 Lyford Road, was one of the 3 curates at St Mary Magdalene. He appears, from the electoral register, to have moved here in 1906. He was a widower and living with his spinster daughter, Mary, 49, and adopted daughter Ada, 50. In 1911 they kept 2 servants. He had been vicar of various churches including 10 years at Bream in Gloucestershire where he had been responsible for enlarging the church and a memorial plaque was erected after his death. He published a number of books on theological topics and British birds. Cornelius’ father, also Herbert, was a fruit broker. Not the obvious occupation to produce two clergymen sons.